Midnight Blue

This week’s SIA is pretty easy for me. The two stand-out colors are blue and red, so I immediately knew I’d wear this navy dress with my red heels. The accessory required a bit more thoughts, though. Sadly I don’t have any brooch or pendant in the shape of a rooster or a violin-playing goat, but then I noticed that the lady in the painting has a heart shape on her top (is it her actual heart? You never know with Chagall), so I added my heart-shaped brooch.

I wore this to my students’ thesis defence last week (their thesis projects are feature film scripts, but they still have to present it in front of a committee). This was my first year as a thesis adviser – that may sound important, but honestly the work isn’t that different from what I do in my freelance script reading job. People ask for your advice, you tell them what they’re doing wrong, and then they don’t listen to you. I’m not surprised, really. One of the first things they teach you in screenwriting class is how to take criticism, but almost nobody knows how to do it.

Don’t forget to stop by Jen’s blog to see other interpretations of this painting!

4 Comments on “Midnight Blue”

  1. Mike says:

    Great, Salazar! I had a feeling that you would go with the colors red and blue for your SIA theme here. And the way that you went about in interpreting this theme is of course, very cool. Awesome job!

    I too, went with blue for my interpretation (take a peek over on my blog to see it), but mine seems rather… boring. But I did the best that I could with what time I had, so…

    How to take criticism… I think everyone needs a class on that, myself included. I can take constructive criticism well enough (most of the time), but I usually get the other kind, ha.

  2. Kezzie says:

    What a beautiful ladylike outfit that is! I love the navy and red. I’m glad you noticed the heart as well. I thought it was one and so included one in my outfit also.

  3. This dress is FABulous. When you say “tailor” – what do you mean?

    • Salazar says:

      Thanks, Erikka! “Tailor” means that I got the dress made by a tailor (like a bespoke suit), instead of buying it from a store. Sometimes it’s cheaper to get things tailored made here in Vietnam, and of course, it’s a perfect fit!


Leave a Reply

