SIA Inspiration: Space Tourism Poster

It’s another week of SIA, and as the host, I decided to pick something a bit fun for this week:

That, my friends, is a space travel poster created by the Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL) of the California Institute of Technology. JPL created a series of posters for exoplanets, in the style of vintage travel posters, to celebrate NASA’s study of these planets, and the series then got expanded to include planets in our Solar System as well. They’re all really cool in an old-school sci-fi sort of way. You can learn more about the posters here and download them for free here.

It took me a while to decide which poster to choose because they’re all great. In the end, I decided on the Venus one because of all the soft colors (including millennial pink, which is very on trend right now). It has some fun geometric shapes and a touch of metallic texture as well, so there are a lot for you guys to interpret. Remember to send me your outfits by next Tuesday, May 23rd, and I’ll post the round-up on Wednesday. Enjoy!

3 Comments on “SIA Inspiration: Space Tourism Poster”

  1. Mike says:

    Awesome choice, Salazar! You know my love of astronomy; loved it ever since I was a kid.
    With all the recent talk of the discovery of exoplanets and how many of them are “Earth-like”, this poster is a perfect choice.

    At first glance, I thought “aww, I don’t have anything pink! How will I participate?” But like you said, there are other ways to go about in interpreting this, so I’ll figure out something. I’ve done it before!

  2. robjodiefilogomo says:

    Ahhhh…I just got the perfect dress for this inspiration!! Cool!
    Jodie
    http://www.jtouchofstyle.com

  3. […] this SIA, I’ve chosen a very simple look. Chosen by Salazar over on 14 Shades of Grey, this challenge involves a poster that’s part of a series of posters created for the recently […]


Leave a Reply

