As Old As Time

I’ve made a habit of dressing in themes whenever I go to see a movie – nothing overt, it’s not like I’m cosplaying or anything, but I would often wear an outfit in the main color scheme of the movie I’m seeing (see: red + blue for The Amazing Spiderman and Captain America, black + red or white + blue for Star Wars, black + gray for Rogue One, etc.) So, in keeping with this grand traditional, which I totally just made up, I dressed in blue, yellow, and brown when I went to see Beauty and the Beast yesterday.

The truth is that I had no interest in seeing it, but I’ve promised my niece I would take her, and a promise is a promise. The movie is OK, I guess. I enjoyed it more than Cinderella, but that’s only because I like Emma Watson as an actress, Belle as a character is slightly more active than Cinderella, and Dan Stevens is hot (I’ve been watching Legion.) Other than that, the movie is an overly glossy, almost shot-for-shot remake of the cartoon, without the heart and the charm. Tale as old as time, indeed. But it made a shitload of money, so it doesn’t look like these pointless Disney live-action remakes are going anywhere soon.

Dress: tailor, Boots: Topshop, Brooch: vintage

2 Comments on “As Old As Time”

  1. Kezzie says:

    I’d like to see it, mainly because of Emma Watson! However, I’m not overly obsessed with Disney so I may or may not get to see it. I love this dress. So pretty and the bow brooch positioned like that works really well!!
    If I HAVE something specifically theme dressed for a movie or theatre, I’ll wear it but a) I don’t trio the cinema very often b) more often than not, i going have themed items. That said, when we went to see The Force Awakens, I did go in a white dress with blue tights, white trainers , red better with blue round brooch, R2D2 handbag and hand made brooch!! 🙂

    • Mike says:

      I’m with you there about not being overly obsessed with Disney movies, Kezzie. I saw a lot of the early ones when I was little. But as I got older, I got bored with them. I’m still debating whether or not I should go see this one as it’s still playing in the theater here, but I don’t know.


Leave a Reply

