Book Reviews: March 2017

It was kind of a mediocre month of reading, but I was so busy that I didn’t really care. Anyway, here goes:

Charlotte by Kathryn Shevelow:

I always saw this languishing on the shelf at my favorite used bookstore, so when it went on sale, I finally picked it up. The subject matter is certainly interesting – it’s a biography of Charlotte Charke, an 18th-century actress famous for her cross-dressing on and off the stage. Well, after reading it, I have to say I can understand why it was on the shelf for so long. It contains some interesting descriptions of the theatrical world of England in that time, but Charlotte herself is not a very engaging protagonist. I find it very hard to sympathize with her – she seems fickle, feckless, and lacking in common sense. Her circumstances are unfortunate, but they don’t justify some of her questionable choices in life. 2/5

The Gentleman’s Daughter by Amanda Vickery:

I’m going to start this review with a disclaimer – I never quit a book in the middle. I may skim, but I always read a book cover to cover. Heck, I read Twilight cover-to-cover! But this, this I had to give up. It was recommended by a Jane Austen fansite as a good source for information about genteel women’s lives during Austen’s time. Since I’ve read a book on women’s lives in the 17th century, I thought I would enjoy a book on the same subject but focusing on the next century. But gods, this is possibly the driest book I have ever read. It reads like a thesis. I tried and tried, but after 17%, I had to give up. I’m sure it’s very well-researched and would be a good source if you want some authentic information about the era, but it doesn’t make for very good reading. 0.5/5

Norse Mythology by Neil Gaiman:

After giving up on a difficult book, I turned to something easier to read and I knew I would be more likely to enjoy – Neil Gaiman’s retelling of the stories from the Norse mythology. Now, I only have the most basic knowledge of Norse mythology (Odin, Thor, Loki, etc.) and a fair bit of that comes from Marvel, so I was quite excited to read this. In the end, though, I was a bit disappointed. Sure, it’s a very quick read and Gaiman did a good job of humanizing these mythological figures, but he didn’t rewrite the story enough to make them more interesting. Basically, after reading it, I had to wonder, what’s the point of this book at all? Not the response you would want. 3/5

A Street Cat Named Bob by James Bowen:

Now this is a truly easy read. It’s the true story of James Bowen, a recovering drug addict and former homeless man who turned his life around after he befriended a stray cat. Bowen himself wrote this with the help of a ghost writer, so don’t expect a literary masterpiece, but it’s a very sweet and touching story, and a must-read for any cat person. I also recommend the movie adaptation, in which Bob plays himself 🙂 3/5

3 Comments on “Book Reviews: March 2017”

  1. Kezzie says:

    Oh dear, a disappointing month eh?!??!? I am the same about giving up books but I had to do that with Elizabeth Gaskell’s Cranford- I hated it!
    I put up my February book reviews only yesterday on my blog and it is 2 days till April! Ahrgh, so many reviews to catch up on!! Groan!

  2. Mike says:

    Sorry to hear that your reads for this month were less than optimal for this month. That happens sometimes I guess.
    I’ve had books that I’ve read or listened to (audio CD) that I absolutely hated. The worst book I ever read/listened to was “Gone Girl” by Gillian Flynn. HATED IT!!!

    Always such a let down, right?

    Hey, that third book you mentioned, I recognized some of those names you listed. They were characters in the book, “Valkyrie” by Kate O’Hearn. Makes sense I guess since Valkyries are from Norse mythology.

    Hope you’ll check out my book reviews later today. I actually finished reading early this month so I should have it up today rather than Friday!

  3. […] see what book, or books I managed to get my hands on next. And be sure to check Salazar’s blog, 14 Shades of Grey, to catch her reads for March as well. We’re trying to expand our book club here on our […]


Leave a Reply

