Black Lace

black wool dress lace tights black heels by 14 shades of grey

When I saw the inspiration for this week’s SIA – the woodcut lace design by Isabella Parasole – I immediately thought about my lace tights. Once I had the lace element down, the rest of the outfit came together pretty quickly – black tights layered underneath and a dark gray dress to make the white lace really pop, just like in the print, and a silver brooch and cut-out heels to mimic the intricacy of the lace.

I wore this last week, for my last day at work before the break (I still have a few work outfits left to post), back when it was still cold enough to wear two pairs of tights. Now the sun is back, which is good, but I could never get used to the Lunar New Year without a bit of drizzling rain.

black wool dress silver brooch by 14 shades of greyblack wool dress lace tights black heels by 14 shades of grey

black wool dress lace tights black heels by 14 shades of greyblack wool dress silver brooch by 14 shades of grey

Don’t forget to check out Jen’s blog tomorrow for the full round-ups of all the outfits inspired by this work of art!

Dress: tailor, Tights: Target & Forever21 (I think?), Shoes: hand-me-down, Brooch: Dutch flea market

5 Comments on “Black Lace”

  1. Mike says:

    Cool Salazar! You really captured the essence of embroidery design of the piece. I like it.
    Hope your break is going well and having lots of time to relax. 🙂

    Incidentally, I failed to mention how much I liked your niece’s artwork from Friday’s post (I don’t know how I missed it), with the roosters and all. I love all the colors she used. She does better than me as I can’t draw animals at all. I’m strictly a land/cityscape artist. 😉

  2. Ada says:

    Those lace tights are the cutest and perfect for Winter!

    I would love for you to stop by and linkup your latest with me. A new linkup is live every Thursday. Come share your beautiful style with us. THANK YOU. =)

    http://eleganceandmommyhood.blogspot.com/2017/01/thursday-moda-48-layering-plaid-for.html

  3. Kezzie says:

    Such a clever interpretation Salazar! I love how you made the tights POP, plus the brooch and shoes add fab intricacy x

  4. Wow, two layers of tights! It was worth it to get that cool effect of the tights. Happy sigh perfect for this inspiration artwork! 🙂

  5. […] co-founder Salazar from 14 Shades of Grey picked the most perfect lacy tights EVER for this challenge. (And she actually layered TWO pairs of […]


Leave a Reply

