Marble As White As Milk

winter white by 14 shades of grey

I had to admit, when I picked the sculptures of Gian Lorenzo Bernini as this week’s SIA inspiration, I didn’t know what my outfit would be. I just had some vague ideas about an all-white or all-gray outfit, but that’s about it. Then, I watched the episode about Bernini on Simon Schama’s Power of Art again (amazing series, you guys should really check it out) and was particularly struck by “Apollo and Daphne“, so I decided to use it as the basis for my outfit. My jeans and sweater mimic the texture of the skin and the hair of the two figures, while my leaf-printed scarf is a nod to Daphne’s leafy fingers. The only part I’m not happy with are my white sneakers – they’re too sporty and don’t really go with the look. I should’ve just worn my brown boots and not worried about maintaining the white theme.

winter white by 14 shades of greywinter white by 14 shades of grey

Sweater: Atmosphere, Jeans: local shop, Sneakers: hand-me-down, Scarf: gift

3 Comments on “Marble As White As Milk”

  1. Mike says:

    I think that you look great Salazar! The cream/white colored theme I think is the best way to go for this SIA. And awesome! You wore your cream colored sweater too!

    And thanks for the recommendation about Bernini. I think I will check it out. I’m always interested in learning about different artists their artwork. Is it on DVD?

  2. Mica says:

    I actually really like the white shoes with this, lovely accessory to continue the monochrome outfit 🙂

    Hope you are having a lovely week.

    Away From The Blue Blog


Leave a Reply

