Braving The Rain

blue shirt gray sweater boyfriend jeans brown loafers by 14 shades of grey

We’ve been having pretty heavy rain these past few days. I’m not complaining – it’s a relief not having to water the garden every day – but it does make getting outfit photos a little bit of a hassle. I managed, though, even if I had to wrap a plastic bag around the camera to take these.

blue shirt gray sweater boyfriend jeans by 14 shades of greyboyfriend jeans brown loafers by 14 shades of grey

blue shirt gray sweater cat brooch by 14 shades of greyblue shirt gray sweater boyfriend jeans by 14 shades of grey

Shirt: local shop, Sweater: H&M, Jeans: Charlotte Russe, Loafers: Footglove, Brooch: Singapore boutique

I actually wore this to a book sale with some co-workers. Every year before the Lunar New Year, this publishing house (the same one I work for) would have a huge clearance sale to clear out their stocks, and every year I would come home laden with books. Come to think of it, book sales are the only kind of sale I enjoy. This time I ended up getting a big haul, as usual, and managed to recommend some of my own translations to my co-workers as well.

book haul

These are all in Vietnamese, of course, but from the top – City of Thieves by David Benioff (yes, the co-creator of Game of Thrones. I’m not a big fan of his screenwriting but this sounds interesting), A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness (I’ve been wanting to read it), History of the Vietnamese Civil War from 1771 – 1802 (more non-fiction), Rainbow Troops by Andrea Hirata (recommended to me by someone who works at the publishing house, it’s not my kind of book but I’m willing to give it a try), Black Water-Lilies by Michel Bussi (I literally picked it up because of the pretty cover), and Red Rising by Pierce Brown (also something I’ve been wanting to read.) Not bad for a rainy day. I can’t wait to start on these!

3 Comments on “Braving The Rain”

  1. Kezzie says:

    That’s so cool that you managed to recommend some of your translations! Hurrah for book sales. I had one of two brilliant hauls of books from charity shops earlier in the year, not so much recently!x

  2. Mike says:

    When I saw your pictures this morning (I read your post but couldn’t comment at the time), I couldn’t help but think of the 1952 film musical “Singin’ In The Rain”; with your umbrella and all. I think it’s a great addition! Maybe you could pose with it more when you take pics while it’s raining? 😉

    And I’m with you there Salazar. I love book sales and have found some pretty cool books at our library book sales that they have every so often. Some of the books are almost brand new and I only pay like a fraction of the original price for them.

    Did I mention that I think it’s so cool that you translate books? It must be a lot of work but it sounds interesting!

  3. Book sales are the best kind of sales. 🙂


Leave a Reply

