Old And New

striped top tweed blazer navy jeans brown booties by 14 shades of grey

When my mom saw this outfit, she commented that the blazer paired with the brooch looks a little too old for me. To which I replied, “What you call ‘old’, I call ‘classic’.” Actually, I didn’t say that. I just shrugged and continued with my breakfast. That’s because I’ve always known some of my style choices are a bit “old lady” (especially the brooches and cardigans), but I always make sure to pair them with more modern-looking pieces (like the striped top and the boots, in this case) to balance them out. Besides, of course my mom would say that the blazer was too old for me. It used to belong to her!

striped top tweed blazer navy jeans by 14 shades of greystriped top tweed blazer navy jeans brown booties by 14 shades of grey

tweed blazer navy jeans brown booties by 14 shades of greystriped top tweed blazer brooch by 14 shades of grey

Sweatshirt: Earth Music & Ecology, Blazer: hand-me-down, Jeans: H&M, Boots: Topshop, Brooch: local shop

5 Comments on “Old And New”

  1. Mike says:

    It’s a nice juxtaposition between old and new! And I love the “salt and pepper-like” blazer! It’s “you”, Salazar. Your mom has good taste. 🙂

  2. lyddiegal says:

    I think it’s fun to mix vintage pieces in, and I love the print of the blazer.
    http://www.iamchiconthecheap.com

  3. Lanae Bond says:

    I have heard that brooches and pearls were too old for a person my age but I still love it! I think it is perfect how you mixed modern pieces with classic items.

  4. Mica says:

    I agree with the way you describe it – I think it’s classic, and not just something older people wear 🙂 A pretty brooch is always a nice accessory!

    Hope you are having a great week 🙂

    Away From The Blue Blog | 5 Year Blogaversary Giveaway

  5. Love the brooch!!! Stopping by from the Confident Twosday linkup!

    -Adriele
    StyleAssisted.com


Leave a Reply

