SIA Inspiration: Gian Lorenzo Bernini

Welcome to the first SIA challenge of 2017! Technically it was Erin’s turn this week, but she is still in the midst of moving, so we decided to switch orders around a bit – I’ll go first, then Jen, and Erin will be back once she has settled in.

One of my resolutions for SIA this year is to pick more interesting artworks. I just went through my SIA Pinterest board and noticed that it mostly features paintings of women in dresses. Pretty, but not particularly challenging. So, in an attempt to pick something a little off the beaten path but still classical, I present to you the sculptures of Italian master Gian Lorenzo Bernini:

This GIF set is from an episode about Bernini in the documentary “Simon Schama’s Power of Art”. I’m just going to quote the episode here: “No one before Bernini had managed to make marble so carnal. In his nimble hands it would flatter and stream, quiver and sweat. His figures weep and shout, their torses twist and run, and arch themselves in spasms of intense sensation. He could, like an alchemist, change one material into another – marble into trees, leaves, hair, and, of course, flesh.”

I didn’t pick a particular sculpture because to me, this challenge is about drapes and textures rather than shapes and colors, but feel free to pick one that speaks to you and base your outfit on it (here is the full list of his works.) Don’t forget to send me your outfits by next Monday, January 16th. I can’t wait to see what you guys come up with!

2 Comments on “SIA Inspiration: Gian Lorenzo Bernini”

  1. Mike says:

    Awesome! Looks like the SIA team is back in business! I missed it (though I had a little fun of my own during the break).

    Your SIA picks have always been interesting Salazar (the monochromatic colors make it easy for me, especially if they’re black or gray) and I liked them. Some were a bit challenging for me, for obvious reasons, but I managed to pull them off anyway. So it’s all good.

    Really awesome choice this time around and a nice way to start us off for 2017. I like sculpture a lot as it gives the eye a whole new perspective on what it sees (not a flat surface projecting a 3 dimensional object or figure, but an actual 3 dimensional piece that can cast shadows).
    This will be fun! I’m already getting ideas as to what I want to do!

  2. Kezzie says:

    Oooh, this one is challenging! Have to think hard about it!!!


Leave a Reply

