What Day Is It?

gray coat black scarf blue jeans white sneakers by 14 shades of grey

Sorry for the no-show on Wednesday and Thursday; I just didn’t have anything to post. This year the Lunar New Year and the actual New Year (we sometimes call it the “Western New Year” or the “Solar New Year”, to differentiate) are so close to each other – only two weeks apart – so I’m in that weird twilight zone, like the one between Christmas and New Year, when you have no idea what day it is and what you’re supposed to be doing. Not a great feeling for creativity.

I think that translates into my outfit too. Everything is casual and practical, but then you get to the brooch and it’s a total needle-scratch. I have no idea what I was thinking when I put it on. Nothing, probably. Putting on a brooch is now almost an automatic action for me.

gray coat black scarf blue jeans white sneakers by 14 shades of greygray coat black scarf blue jeans by 14 shades of grey

gray coat black scarf brooch by 14 shades of greygray coat black scarf blue jeans white sneakers by 14 shades of grey

Sweatshirt: local shop, Coat: Atmosphere, Scarf: Forever21, Jeans: H&M, Sneakers: hand-me-down, Brooch: flea market

5 Comments on “What Day Is It?”

  1. Mike says:

    Yeah, I get that. I was just talking about that kind of feelings yesterday with someone; at how you feel totally zoned out that whole week between Christmas and New Years. It puts me in a really weird mood as I try to hold onto what’s left of Christmas but looking forward to the new year (which was especially the case this time around).

    And I’m still trying to catch up with my daily routine as I’m totally off-kilter. And the frigid cold weather we’ve been getting doesn’t exactly help with that.

    Your outfit is looking good though, Salazar. Love the monochrome-like colors, especially the gray and the black. It’s perfect for a Friday and entering into the weekend.

  2. I felt like that last year until about the time I rebranded or so. Just no creativity whatsoever.

    I love this outfit, though. It’s so streamlined and sleek looking, and that scarf looks SO warm!

  3. I’m mentally moving the brooch down to the lapel of your coat. It’s a beautiful brooch! 🙂

  4. Kezzie says:

    Your brooches are always so pretty and delicate! I like this outfit. It’s very Sherlock!!

    • Salazar says:

      Ha, I didn’t even think of that because I was wearing sneakers, but now that you mention it, I guess the scarf and the coat are kind of Sherlock-ish.


Leave a Reply

