Happy New Year

white button-up gray cardigan navy jeans brown booties by 14 shades of grey

Well, here we are, 2017. Forgive me if I’m a little wary of welcoming you. Your predecessor hasn’t been easy on us. I hope you’ll be kinder. If nothing else, at least we have Star Wars Episode VIII to look forward too, right?

Anyway, here’s a simple outfit to bring in the New Year. We don’t really celebrate New Year here (we save our holiday spirits for the Lunar New Year) so it’s back to business as usual. I don’t see my style changing much next year, but I am making a conscious choice to shop a lot less. Except for replacements, I will see if I can stop shopping altogether. I’ve been pretty good in the latter half of 2016, mostly because I’ve been too busy to actually go shopping, so I’m hoping I can keep it up in 2017. I’m not putting any pressure on myself though; if I see something I really like, I would buy it. I just have to remind myself to think more carefully about my purchase, that’s all.

white button-up gray cardigan navy jeans by 14 shades of greywhite button-up gray cardigan navy jeans brown booties by 14 shades of grey

white button-up brooch by 14 shades of grey

Shirt & Boots: Topshop, Cardigan: Forever21, Jeans: H&M, Brooch: vintage

4 Comments on “Happy New Year”

  1. Mike says:

    I’m looking forward to a better year in 2017. I’m off to a pretty good start so far. And with the holidays over for us here in the US, I’m sort of looking forward to my normal routine, which I’ve been out of for a while. I certainly enjoyed the days off from work that I got, thanks to Christmas and New Years being on the weekend this year.

    I bet you’re looking forward to your big holiday coming up though, Salazar; the end of January this year, right? Hope it will be a fun time for you!

    I’m sort of like that too, only with books and art supplies though. I’ve gotten better in recent years as my wallet doesn’t always agree with my impulse to buy new books or art supplies, but if I see something that I really want, I buy it. I just have to make sure that I budget accordingly so I don’t have to worry or feel guilty about it afterwards.

  2. Mica says:

    Your brooch is such a pretty accessory with the white shirt! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Hope you had a wonderful Christmas and you have a happy new year ๐Ÿ™‚ Your goal to shop less is a good one! I did that last year but this year I’m going to try harder and I’m avoiding shopping for 6 months.

    Away From The Blue Blog | 5 Year Blogaversary Giveaway

  3. Happy new year! And good luck cutting back on shopping!

  4. Kezzie says:

    Niiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiice brooch!! Happynew year to you!


Leave a Reply

