A Year In Review: 2016

So, another year, gone. Usually, around October or so, I would start to look back at my outfits throughout the year to see how they have been so far, and usually, I would declare it hasn’t been a very exciting year, style-wise. However, every time December rolls around, I always manage to find some looks I particularly liked. This year is the same. I still have a weakness for slightly fussy looks, though I look best and feel best in simple, streamlined outfits. But hey, where’s the fun if you can’t dress up once in a while, right?

I’ve included some of my favorite looks in my SIA retrospective last Monday, but here are the non-SIA ones, in chronological order:

black wool dress mustard scarf black boots by 14 shades of greywhite cableknit sweater wool jacket black jeans black boots by 14 shades of grey

white eyelet top brown cardigan blue jeans brown booties by 14 shades of greystriped shirt blue jeans black flats trench coat by 14 shades of grey

blue striped shirt navy skirt red heels by 14 shades of greywhite eyelet top black pants black oxfords by 14 shades of grey

navy print shirt white wideleg pants flat sandals by 14 shades of greyblack floral dress black pants black heels by 14 shades of grey

black tee black printed skirt red heels by 14 shades of greyblack striped top boyfriend jeans blue oxfords by 14 shades of grey

blue linen top black jeans brown booties by 14 shades of greynavy dress embroidered cardigan red heels by 14 shades of grey

yellow dress black cardigan black pumps by 14 shades of greywhite shirt tweed jacket wool pants brown oxfords cloche hat by 14 shades of grey

black turtleneck white skirt black pumps by 14 shades of greyblack sweatshirt pleated skirt black pumps by 14 shades of grey

November appears to be the MVP, with four outfits in the list – it goes to show that as soon as the weather turns cold, I get a major style boost and put together much more interesting looks.

And no, I’m not doing “Worst Outfits” this year. 2016 has been enough of a turd fest already, so I don’t want to annoy anybody, least of all myself, by posting about my style mistakes. So let’s end this year on a high note, and hopefully, next year will improve!

2 Comments on “A Year In Review: 2016”

  1. Mike says:

    Hahahaha! I like that; turd fest. I hadn’t thought of that one. Usually I like to think of catchy descriptive phrases to describe whatever situation I find myself in (and I’ve come up with some doozies sometimes), but that is a new one.
    And I agree 100%. But we’ll keep a good thought and hope that 2017 will be better.

    Happy New Year Salazar!

  2. Ooh I love how you really have a strong color palette you tend to follow! It’s so good and works well on you!


Leave a Reply

