SIA Favorites Of 2016

Like I said last week, I thought it would be fun to have a round-up of my favorite SIA outfits this year. Most of them I picked because I like the outfit, but some I also picked for the inspiration. I’ve never done this with SIA before, and the challenges this year have been really interesting. Other than the usual paintings and prints, we have also featured unconventional works such as a quilt, stained-glass dome, and a baseball scorecard, so I believe it’s worth commemorating.

So, starting at the beginning of the year, we have Georgia O’ Keeffe’s “Sunrise“, picked by Jen. My interpretation was a little unconventional, but that’s why I like it:

chambray shirt striped sweatshirt blue jeans blue oxfords by 14 shades of grey

Next we have Ansel Adams’ “Aspen, Northern New Mexico“, picked by Jess. We don’t feature a lot of photos on SIA, something I plan to rectify next year. This is also Jess’ last pick as an SIA host before she took a step back to focus on her life. We miss you, Jess!

gray sweatshirt gray coat blue jeans black oxfords by 14 shades of grey

The next favorite is one of my own inspirations – Rene Lalique’s “Dragonfly Lady” brooch. The inspiration is beautiful, if I do say so myself, and everybody did such a good job of interpreting it too:

mint shirt black midi skirt green heels by 14 shades of grey

This next one is Jen’s inspiration – a piece of 16th century Turkish tulip embroidery. Just some uncomplicated springtime prettiness:

chambray shirt printed wrap skirt brown heels by 14 shades of grey

Our new host, Erin, always has such interesting inspirations, and one of her very first picks, the Tiffany stained-glass dome of the Chicago Cultural Center, is possibly the most gorgeous thing I’ve ever seen:

blue printed blouse black midi skirt beige sandals by 14 shades of grey

Next up is another of my picks, Sir Lawrence Alma-Tadema’s “The Roses of Heliogabalus“. A few of my inspirations this year are flower-themed paintings, but I picked this one as a favorite for its sheer drama:

rose print shirt pink skirt flat sandals by 14 shades of grey

This next one is a simple outfit, inspired by Jen’s pick of Briton Rivière’s “Una and the Lion“, but I picked it because of the location – SIA went to Iceland!

gray sweater blanket scarf black jeans black boots by 14 shades of grey

Last but not least, here’s an outfit inspired by Erin’s choice of a vintage Chicago Cubs baseball scorecard. I don’t think we can ever top this one in terms of uniqueness, even if my outfit is not up to par:

black blazer boyfriend jeans black oxfords by 14 shades of grey

Here’s to another successful year of SIA, and hopefully next year will be just as fun!

3 Comments on “SIA Favorites Of 2016”

  1. Kezzie says:

    You had some brilliantly inventive outfits here. I will always love that Tulip one the best. It was a,great outfit!!!x

  2. […] Also, be sure to browse my fellow SIA curators, Salazar @ 14 Shades of Grey and Erin @ Loop Looks. Salazar has even put together a post of her favorite SIA outfits throughout 2016! […]


Leave a Reply

