British Preppy

trench coat plaid scarf wool pants oxford heels by 14 shades of grey

I was so happy with my Fantastic Beasts-inspired outfit last week that I decided to try it again this week. Now, this is an even looser interpretation of the look than my previous outfit, but it’s built on the same elements – lots of neutral colors, tweed/wool, and oxford shoes. Very important, oxford shoes. For some reason, I can’t seem to wear these pants with anything other than oxfords. There’s something about their material and the cut that immediately makes me think of a British professor (hence the title), so oxfords would be the natural shoes of choice.

striped top trench coat plaid scarf wool pants by 14 shades of greystriped top trench coat plaid scarf wool pants by 14 shades of grey

striped top trench coat plaid scarf wool pants oxford heels by 14 shades of greystriped top trench coat plaid scarf wool pants oxford heels by 14 shades of grey

Top: Earth Music & Ecology, Pants: Esprit (hand-me-down), Coat: Mango, Scarf: Candies, Shoes: local shop

One Comment on “British Preppy”

  1. Mike says:

    Love the neutral colors! I’m all for that. 🙂

    And I agree. Oxfords just seem to be the perfect icon, if you will, for college professors. About a handful of my professors dressed up for class and oxford shoes were always a part of their attire.


Leave a Reply

