Fantastic Beasts And Where To Find Them

white shirt tweed jacket wool pants brown oxfords cloche hat by 14 shades of grey

I wore this last week to see Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, the Harry Potter spin-off and sort-of prequel. Even before I saw the movie, I’m already in love with all of its 1920’s costumes, especially Tina’s menswear outfits (although the Aurors’ leather dusters are pretty fabulous too). So I was trying to recreate her look here – a button-up shirt, a tweed jacket, wide-leg wool pants, oxfords, a cloche, and a pendant. I could’ve added my trench coat or wool coat as well, but it was too bulky on top of my jacket. Besides, it’s not that cold yet, and this is supposed to be an “inspired” outfit, not a cosplay. Of course, that didn’t stop me from using my copy of Fantastic Beasts as a prop though😛

As for the movie, it’s definitely fun and magical, but I can’t help feeling it was two movies crammed into one. The Grindelwald storyline was shoehorned into it and had very little to do with Newt Scamander. It’s a shame, really, because they could’ve developed it into two film series – one family-friendly series about New Scamander’s adventures in the world of cryptozoology, and a darker, PG-13 prequel series about the battle between young Dumbledore and Grindelwald. The movies would be better and the studio would’ve made twice the money. Ugh. Those foolish Muggles!

white shirt tweed jacket wool pants cloche hat by 14 shades of greywhite shirt tweed jacket wool pants brown oxfords cloche hat by 14 shades of grey

tweed jacket wool pants brown oxfords by 14 shades of greywhite shirt tweed jacket by 14 shades of grey

white shirt tweed jacket wool pants brown oxfords cloche hat by 14 shades of greyA fantastic beast of my own!

Shirt: Topshop, Jacket & Pants: hand-me-down, Oxfords: Vagabond, Cloche: Target, Necklace: local shop


2 Comments on “Fantastic Beasts And Where To Find Them”

  1. Mike says:

    Ah, so you went to go see “Fantastic Beasts”? Cool. I think I mentioned last week that I had the opportunity to go see it right when it first hit the theaters, but I had too much to do and was feeling really burned out, so I declined.

    I may try and go see it though, since it’s playing at the local theater down the street from our apartment and I can walk there with ease.
    I’m not a Harry Potter fan, but if you recommend a movie, I’m sure that it’s good.

    By the way, love the hat!

  2. Thanks for joining Top of the World Style. That’s a very interesting outfit!


Leave a Reply

