Book Reviews: November 2016

As I said in last month’s reviews, this month was going to be all Discworld for me. I was so frustrated with all the bad writings I read in October, and since November is a busy month in script reading, that’s more bad writings I had to deal with, so I wanted something safe and fun and I know I will enjoy. I didn’t strictly read all Discworld book, but I did read all Terry Pratchett books (by a strange coincidence, in November/December last year I also read three Discworld book. There is just something about November that makes me want to reach for Terry Pratchett for comfort, I guess.)

I apologize beforehand if the reviews do not make much sense to those of you who haven’t read Discworld. Anyway, here are the books:

books_16-11

A Slip of the Keyboard:

This is a collection of nonfiction writings by Terry Pratchett, including his articles from his journalist days to his speeches and anything in between. They are often hilarious, sometimes heartbreaking, especially toward the end when he talked about his Alzheimer’s and his quest for assisted dying. You can really feel Sir Terry’s warmth and wit and anger coming through (because you have to be angry to write such biting, sarcastic words). 4.5/5

The Amazing Maurice and his Educated Rodents:

This is labeled as a “young adult” Discworld book, but I think that’s simply because it features a talking cat and talking rats (who then team up with a “stupid-looking kid” and go from town to town to enact the Pied Piper scheme). This is some heavy stuff – I think it’s even more somber than most Rincewind books! It asks some philosophical questions about the nature of being, of intelligence and religion, and there are some scary/intense moments as well. It’s not as funny as other Discworld book, but very good nonetheless. 4/5

Lords and Ladies:

I love the Tiffany Aching books, and I love Granny Weatherwax, so I always find it a little weird that I never love the Witches books as much as I should. But then I realize that it’s because I haven’t found the right Witches book, because I love this. This one sees Granny Weatherwax, Nanny Ogg, and Magrat back in their hometown as Midsummer is approaching and the Queen of the Elves is getting really angry about having to stay in Faerie. This is the Granny Weatherwax that I know and love from the Tiffany Aching book, plus the reveal about her past romance with Mustrum Ridcully (one of my favorite side-characters) is just too cute – and a little sad too. 5/5

Feet of Clay:

After Death and Tiffany Aching, the Watch books are probably my third favorite in the Discworld series. I didn’t read them in order – I think I read The Fifth Elephant first – but that’s OK because the first few are just to introduce the characters anyway. With this one, the core team of the Watch is coming together, so the story is shaping up better as well. I always love a good police procedural show, and this is just like that – imagine Brooklyn 99 but with werewolves, dwarves, trolls, gargoyles, and others making up the team. It’s also a good mystery – someone, or something, is running around the city killing old men, and Lord Vetinari is being slowly poisoned, and now it is up to the beleaguered Vimes and his team of misfits to uncover the truth. 5/5

I may have been a little biased with these reviews.


2 Comments on “Book Reviews: November 2016”

  1. Mike says:

    These sound like interesting books Salazar. I haven’t heard of the Discworld series. I may try to look some of them up in our library as I’m willing to bet that we have them. The name Terry Pratchett definitely rings a bell, so I’ve probably seen them before.

    I have some pretty serious reads going on right now (one in which you already know about). I’ll reveal them later today in my own little corner of the Net.😉

  2. Kezzie says:

    I really like the Witch series ones but I must admit I loved the Tiffany Aching ones much more than the general witch ones (Maskerade was my very first Terry Pratchett). The Watch are definitely my favourites now! I really enjoyed Maurice and I too was surprised it was for children or young adult as it really does cover some deep issues.!!


Leave a Reply

