SIA: Tempest

It’s a meeting of the black turtlenecks as everybody interpreted John Larriva’s “Tempest” for SIA. I guess it’s a natural choice – the girl in the painting looks like she’s wearing a black turtleneck after all – but the rest of the outfits are as diverse as they come. Let’s get to it!

The first turtleneck of the bunch comes from Jen, in a sharp black-and-gray outfit, with the Puget Sound serving as the backdrop – how cool is that?

Next is Mike. He, too, went all-black, and he added a black cap to mimic the girl’s wind-blown hair:

24_salazar_larriva_mike

Erin wore a hat as well – borrowed from her mom while she was at her parents’ house for Thanksgiving. What a lucky find!

Kezzie is another one to wear a turtleneck. I love her blue skirt and her butterfly brooch (does she choose it because of the “butterfly effect”? I don’t know, but it’s certainly appropriate):

 And finally, here’s me and my black turtleneck:

black turtleneck black leather jacket blue jeans brown booties by 14 shades of grey

And that concludes another successful SIA. Thank you for participating! Remember to check back next week for Jen’s inspiration – incidentally, after Jen’s round-up, we’re going to take a break for the Christmas/New Year holiday, so it’s only to be our last challenge for 2016. I hope it’s a good one!

4 Comments on “SIA: Tempest”

  1. Mike says:

    Another superb interpretation by everyone here. I just realized that I’m not wearing a turtleneck, which was sort of the main focus of this SIA (I actually don’t have any turtleneck shirts) but I did the best I could and interpreted it pretty well I must say. I had a lot of fun with this one and took several pics, which can be seen on my blog.

    The blue of Salazar’s jeans and Kezzie’s skirt match perfectly with the blue in the painting. I love Erin’s cobalt blue shirt (I have one that’s the exact same color). And Jen picked the best spot for her SIA photo shoot. I think we can all give ourselves a pat on the back because we all did great! Hope to see everyone for the next challenge! And I know that Jen will pick a great piece of art for our last SIA of the year! It’s hard to believe that it’s that time of the year already.

  2. Great job, everyone! Love the hats from Mike and Erin and the mixture of feminine and masculine in Salazar’s outfit. And Kezzie looks so dreamy in her turtleneck and blue circle skirt — and that butterfly brooch is perfect! 🙂

    • Mike says:

      Thanks Jen! Yeah, I think that this is one of my favorite SIAs. I had a lot of fun with it. And that’s the best part I think; being creative and having fun. 🙂

  3. Kezzie says:

    Yay, black tops all round! I like the fact it was such an obvious palette for all of us! Pretty blues and stern blacks!


Leave a Reply

