The Tempest

black turtleneck black leather jacket blue jeans brown booties by 14 shades of grey

My interpretation for this week’s SIA, inspired by “Tempest” by Florida-based artist John Larriva, is pretty self-explanatory. Black turtleneck and leather jacket for the black top the girl in the painting is wearing, and blue jeans and blue pendant for the blue background – done! But as I was putting the post together, I realized my outfit could be seen as a nod to Shakespeare’s The Tempest as well – the blue to represent the sea and the island where Prospero and Miranda are stranded (my pendant even has some swirls in it like water), and the black to represent the storm and Prospero’s magic. I don’t know if the artist has Shakespeare in mind when he painted this painting (other than the title), but now it has given me the idea to write a modern-day version of The Tempest. Not like Forbidden Planet, which is the sci-fi version, but set in actual modern day, with supernatural elements, sort of like Lost. That could work, couldn’t it? (Sorry, that’s the way my brain thinks, always trying to come up with new story ideas.)

Don’t forget to check back tomorrow for the full round-up post!

black turtleneck black leather jacket blue jeans by 14 shades of grey

black turtleneck black leather jacket necklace by 14 shades of greyblack turtleneck black leather jacket blue jeans brown booties by 14 shades of grey

Top: Uniqlo, Jacket: Zara, Jeans: Sneak Peek, Boots: Topshop, Necklace: local shop

2 Comments on “The Tempest”

  1. Mike says:

    Love it! Your interpretation for “Tempest” I think is right on. Your blue jeans go perfectly with the blue background of the painting. And hey! Great opportunity to sport your new leather jacket! 🙂

    Nice reference to Shakespeare’s play, “The Tempest”. I didn’t think of that!
    And no need to apologize. I’m like that too; always searching for new ideas to either write about to make into a painting. Helps keep our brains sharp. 😉

    See you at the round-up tomorrow!

  2. Nice! My favorite bit is the necklace. I also thought of Shakespear’s The Tempest, and I like that your tan booties could represent the sand of the island in that play? 🙂


Leave a Reply

