Menswear? Check! Baseball? Not So Much…

black blazer boyfriend jeans black oxfords by 14 shades of grey

This week’s SIA, inspired by a vintage Chicago Cubs scorecard, is a bit tricky for me. I know I wouldn’t be able to mimic the colors of the scorecard itself. I could use baseball as an inspiration, but I don’t have my baseball T-shirt anymore. It mentions menswear on the scorecard (as a sort of advertisement/sponsor, I’m guessing), which I could use as a jumping off point, but I wouldn’t be able to mimic the nattily-dressed man in the ad either (a boater hat in this weather? No.)

In the end, I decided on an extremely loose interpretation with a menswear-inspired outfit. My blazer, button-up shirt, boyfriend jeans, oxfords, and lapel pin are all classic menswear pieces, and I managed to add a nod to the inspiration with my striped scarf – to mimic the man’s striped socks. Good thing I remembered it at the last minute, but it also means that the scarf was super wrinkled. Sorry!

So yeah, a loose interpretation, but I quite like it. Now I’m looking forward to tomorrow to see how others interpret this. Remember to stop by Erin’s blog to check it out!

black blazer boyfriend jeans by 14 shades of greyblack blazer boyfriend jeans black oxfords by 14 shades of grey

black blazer striped scarf leaf pin by 14 shades of grey

Blazer: Warehouse, Jeans: Charlotte Russe, Shirt: local shop, Scarf: hand-me-down, Pin: Forever21, Oxfords: Vagabond

3 Comments on “Menswear? Check! Baseball? Not So Much…”

  1. Mike says:

    I think you look great Salazar. Wrinkled or not, your scarf is a great addition to your outfit and it matches the striped socks of the man on the scorecard quite well. And I love the blazer!

    I also went with the “menswear” interpretation side for this SIA (for obvious reasons) but also because I don’t have many colors in my closet that match the colors on the scorecard very well. I do have a few, but the clothing itself doesn’t exactly fit the right style for this one.
    When I think of “menswear”, I think of my typical look that I often like to sport.

    And I went with a similar color scheme that you have here, which you’ll see tomorrow.

    Should be an interesting round-up tomorrow!

  2. […] up we have Salazar who went with a striped scarf and loafers to echo the socks and shoes depicted on the cover. Plus, […]

  3. […] but not least, here’s an outfit inspired by Erin’s choice of a vintage Chicago Cubs baseball scorecard. I don’t think we can ever top this one in terms of uniqueness, even if my outfit is not up […]


Leave a Reply

