40’s Inspired

navy dress embroidered cardigan red heels by 14 shades of grey

I don’t know if it’s because I’m watching The Crown (fabulous show, I will do a review next week if I can finish it in time), but I’ve been feeling quite inspired by the late 1940’s – early 1950’s lately. Of course, this is my “Agent Carter” dress, so it fits that era perfectly, and the embroidered cardigan is very appropriate for that era as well.

It’s been a while since I dress up like this, and now I remember why – there are so many layers to deal with! See, I always wear my bike shorts with dresses and skirts, but the dress isn’t lined, which means I had to wear a slip as well. If this was truly the 40’s, the bike shorts would be replaced by stockings and garters and who knows what else. And that is still nothing compared to the undergarments of the old days. I honestly can’t imagine how they could deal with all those corsets and hoops and a gazillion petticoats. Wait, no, I actually can. I was the costume mistress on my friend’s period films, so I had some idea what dressing up in those days involved. All I can say is – I may love vintage fashion, but I wouldn’t want to live in those eras!

navy dress embroidered cardigan red heels by 14 shades of greynavy dress embroidered cardigan by 14 shades of grey

navy dress embroidered cardigan by 14 shades of greynavy dress embroidered cardigan red heels by 14 shades of grey

Dress: tailor, Cardigan & Shoes: local shops, Belt: thrifted

2 Comments on “40’s Inspired”

  1. Mike says:

    A great outfit for you Salazar; a very patriotic with the colors, which is perfect for our Veteran’s Day holiday over here.

    Awesome as always!

    And speaking of shows on TV, there’s a new show that started just last month called “Timeless”. It’s a show about time travel and three people have to travel back in time to various eras to stop a man from changing history. Pretty typical story line and it’s nothing that I haven’t already heard of in other shows or books. I’m not impressed by that so much. But it’s still a pretty decent show and I’ve been watching it every week to see if the time travelers are going to stop this guy from trying to change history.

    But anyway, I bring this up because when you mentioned that though you love vintage fashion, but wouldn’t want to live in those days, I remembered that the time travelers in the show actually dress up in clothing that fits the particular time period that they’re traveling to, which I think really makes the show pretty sweet.

    And I second that in not living in those eras!

    Happy Friday!

  2. Kezzie says:

    I adore this! So pretty and delicate. But yes, I know what you mean about the layers. Today, I wore a dress to work with a pretty music print with a collar underneath it, cardigan on top, tights and boots- it took forever to get on!!!


Leave a Reply

