Greensleeves

green sweatshirt black jeans brown oxfords by 14 shades of grey

Here’s a fashion history fun fact for you guys: back in the 19th century, people used to dye clothes with an arsenic-based pigment. It created a lovely bright green color, but of course, could also give the wearer a lovely case of poisoning as well.

Thankfully we are no longer using that, because I have discovered a newfound love for green. I used to not wear green very often, thinking it washed me out. But then I bought a green coat, and a green scarf after that, and I found out that this shade of deep, forest green (or hunter green) actually has the opposite effect and make me look less sallow that I really am! So bring on the green!

green sweatshirt black jeans by 14 shades of greygreen sweatshirt black jeans brown oxfords by 14 shades of grey

black jeans brown oxfords by 14 shades of greygreen sweatshirt brooch by 14 shades of grey

Sweatshirt: Forever21, Jeans & Brooch: local shops, Oxfords: Vagabond

One Comment on “Greensleeves”

  1. Mike says:

    Looking awesome as always Salazar. You’re right. That green is perfect for you! It’s just the right shade. A lot of people hate on green, but I like it, probably because it’s the color of nature, which I like. I’m especially fond of dark forest green.

    I read part of that article that you linked above and it’s shockingly scary, especially the part about an average headdress having enough arsenic in it to poison 20 people; creepy!!
    I guess you could say that these green arsenic articles of fashion were the “kryptonite” of the 19th century.

    Sorry, couldn’t help the superhero reference there, but it matches pretty well, wouldn’t you say? 😉


Leave a Reply

