Monochromatic Peacock

white printed shirt gray pants black oxfords by 14 shades of grey

My problem with this week’s SIA is not that I didn’t know what to wear, but that I had too many possible options for it. That’s what happens when you have a closet full of black, white, and gray things and the principal colors in the inspiration piece are black, white, and gray. I even considered waiting until Tuesday, when the weather forecast says it’s going to cool down considerably, to wear my gray cardigan or sweatshirt, but decided that I wouldn’t have time to edit the photos, write the post and send everything to Jen on time. So here’s what I finally settled on, even though it means I’ve worn these pants for SIA twice in a row.

It’s all pretty self-explanatory, except for the necklace – I didn’t want to add a yellow or orange “pop of color” because I felt that would be too cliched, so I chose the circle necklace to mimic the yellow circle behind the peacock. Done and done.

Don’t forget to stop by Jen’s blog tomorrow to see other interpretations of this vintage Vogue cover. Happy Halloween!

white printed shirt gray pants by 14 shades of greygray pants black oxfords by 14 shades of grey

white printed shirt copper necklace by 14 shades of grey

Shirt & Necklace: local shops, Pants: Topshop, Oxfords: Vagabond

2 Comments on “Monochromatic Peacock”

  1. Kezzie says:

    I was going to say this one was RIGHT up your street! Nice shirt and clever work with the circle necklace!

  2. […] co-host and co-founder Salazar @ 14 Shades of Grey went for a minimalist approach, pairing her soft grey trousers with a subtly patterned button-front […]


Leave a Reply

