Quiet On The Set!

white print shirt navy jeans pink sneakers by 14 shades of grey

This week’s outfit posts have been seriously lacking because 1) the weather can’t seem to make up its mind if it wants to be summer or fall, and 2) I’ve been busy supervising a student’s film shoot. So all week, I’ve been wearing something similar to this – button-up shirts, pants, and sneakers. Close-toed shoes are a must on every film set. (No, really. It’s an actual rule. As in, you won’t be allowed on set if you’re wearing sandals or flip-flops. Who knows what’ll fall on your toes. I got that drilled into me during my entire time in film school – not that I ever had a problem with that, because sneakers are pretty much all I wore in college.)

I miss being on set, so I was actually looking forward to this, but after two days, I’d had my fill. It wasn’t a bad experience or anything. I just remember that being on set, especially somebody else’s set, means standing around and waiting. And waiting some more. For a long time. And the set of a student film in Vietnam doesn’t even have a craft service table where you can pass the time with some snacks. Next time I’ll remember to bring a book.

white print shirt navy jeans by 14 shades of greywhite print shirt navy jeans pink sneakers by 14 shades of grey

white print shirt navy jeans pink sneakers by 14 shades of greywhite print shirt watch by 14 shades of grey

Shirt: local shop, Jeans: H&M, Sneakers: Johann Cruyff, Watch: hand-me-down

3 Comments on “Quiet On The Set!”

  1. Mike says:

    That’s a similar rule to what we have here where I work (though somehow, some people manage to “bend” this little rule to fit their own preferences for footwear). This rule especially applies to book shelvers in that closed toe shoes are a must, unless you want crushed or broken toes, which I do not, thank you very much. There have been cases where people have had their toes run over by a loaded book cart and the results were not pretty. So for me, it’s always been sturdy boots (like what you see in my SIA photos). I hate both sandals and flip flops anyway and will never wear them, even if I was paid to do so.

    In fact, the department I used to work in required all the workers (except for me because I never actually got to ride in the library’s book buses, or bookmobiles as they’re typically called) to wear steel toed shoes for safety reasons. Many of my former co-workers got to ride the book truck lifts, push heavy metal carts around, etc. Couldn’t imagine doing that kind of work without steel toes; sort of like being in construction where hard hats are required.

    As always, you look great Salazar. 🙂

  2. Nicole says:

    Thanks for linking up to Top of the World Style. This shirt is cute.

  3. Kezzie says:

    My Mum does Extra work on filmsets and she says there is sooooo much hanging around so this doesn’t surprise me! Definitely take a book!!x


Leave a Reply

