Dress For The Job You Have

navy printed shirt navy skirt red kitten heels by 14 shades of grey

You know that saying, “Dress for the job you want, not the job you have”? I always find it kind of a limited advice, and in my case, downright counterproductive. If I dressed for the job I want (freelance writer/script doctor), I would wear nothing but ratty old T-shirts and sweatpants all day. So in the meantime, I’m going to dress for the job that I actually have and want to keep, thank you very much.

P/S: I’m actually surprised it took this long for my matchy-matchy brain to pair this shirt with this skirt.

navy printed shirt navy skirt by 14 shades of greynavy skirt red kitten heels by 14 shades of grey

Shirt: C-Wonder, Skirt: Banana Republic, Shoes: Zara

7 Comments on “Dress For The Job You Have”

  1. Mike says:

    I hear you there Salazar. In my case, I’d be sporting ripped pants, a tattered shirt with buttons missing and socks that don’t match (all black of course) for my desired job (writer/artist/postcard-greeting card designer) as I would probably never leave my place and I’d work at home. No one would see me.

    But since I wish to keep my cozy little job going at the library of 10+ years, I will wear no such thing. Though some people seem to be able to get away with what we mentioned above and they barely get a slap on the wrist for it. What the heck?!?!

    And as always, you look very professional Salazar. Great outfit!

  2. jhitomi says:

    Are you levitating in that last photo or is that an illusion?

    • Salazar says:

      I’m going to let you in on a secret – I’m totally a wizard who can levitate. Shhh! (Kidding, it’s just a well-timed jump :P)

      • Mike says:

        Love your answer! If I could choose one super power to have, I think I’d choose levitation. It would be cool to float around and save my knees. 🙂

  3. Kezzie says:

    This is such a pretty outfit. I love the pattern on the shirt and thise red shoes give it a real fun boost. You are the best at jump shoe shots too!x

  4. Nicole says:

    Thanks for linking up to Top of the World Style. This outfit is so cute! You look awesome.


Leave a Reply

