Paint It Black

black t-shirt black pants black oxfords by 14 shades of grey

Considering how many black clothes I have and my penchant for monochromes, it’s a bit surprising I’ve rarely worn an all-black outfit. Maybe it’s my OCD tendency to get all twitchy if blacks or whites don’t match. Or maybe it’s because I’m not goth enough.

But I’ve had The Rolling Stones’ “Paint It Black” stuck in my head for the past week, after I heard the awesomely haunting instrumental version on Westworld, so today, when I was running short on time and didn’t know what to wear, I thought, What the heck, let’s wear all black. Next time, though, I would probably wear a plain T-shirt and accessorize with a necklace instead, to streamline the outfit more. The embellishment on my shirt kinda muddles the whole look a bit, don’t you agree?

black t-shirt black pants by 14 shades of greyblack pants black oxfords by 14 shades of grey

black embellished t-shirt by 14 shades of grey

Shirt: Target (thrifted), Pants: thrifted, Oxfords: Vagabond

5 Comments on “Paint It Black”

  1. Mike says:

    Ha! You know that I love this outfit Salazar! I’m all for the all black look. About 95% of my attire is black so it makes it pretty easy for me to decide what to wear in the mornings. But like you, I am so particular about having my blacks match up. I prefer to have them all match up but if that’s not a possibility, I want my pants to at least be darker than my shirt or my jacket (my typical look). If my shirt is darker than my pants, it looks “top-heavy” and I don’t like that. Some of my older shirts that I’ve washed so much that the black has faded, I’ll keep and will wear out in public still (as long as there’s no wear and tear) but if my pants get that way, they will not be seen outside of my apartment, ever; indoor wear only, like when I’m cleaning.
    So it’s an OCD thing with me too. You’re not alone.

    And I don’t think the little flower embellishment muddles it at all. It sort of adds a little bit of shaded variety to your outfit, which looks good.
    With me, it’s just straight black. I sometimes look like I’ve stepped out from the shadows but I don’t care; I like it. And yes, I’m wearing all black today as well, I’m proud to say. 🙂

  2. Kezzie says:

    I don’t know what you mean about it muddling it- I like it!

  3. I love all black looks! Adding different shades and textures of black make it a definite do! I love the texture you added with the t shirt and the shoes!

    http://www.mylittlenest.org

  4. I like the unexpected texture the t-shirt embellishment brings to the outfit 🙂

  5. Sheree says:

    I’ve always believed that when in doubt wear all black or all white with a pop of color for accessories. Great look, very minimalist.

    ~ xo Sheree
    Posh Classy Mom
    Instagram


Leave a Reply

