SIA Inspiration: Jean-Étienne Liotard

We’ve had some unconventional inspirations lately (print, poster, street art), so this week I’m going the traditional route and picking a classic painting for SIA – “The Chocolate Girl“:

This delicate and deceptively simple-looking pastel painting is considered the masterpiece of 18th-century Swiss artist Jean-Étienne Liotard. I always have a soft spot for it, because it was one of my first exposures to fine arts when I saw it, funnily enough, on a stamp in my dad’s collection.

Sartorially speaking, the painting may look minimalist, but upon closer inspection, you can see a lot of great details – from the lace trim on the girl’s pink cap to the subtle floral pattern on the cup of chocolate she’s carrying, and of course, the muted tones are perfect for fall. So get inspired, put together an outfit, and send it to me (14shadesofgreblog@gmail.com) by next Monday, October 17th. Enjoy!

3 Comments on “SIA Inspiration: Jean-Étienne Liotard”

  1. Mike says:

    I have to say that I love these kinds of paintings and is one of the reasons why I love art (and SIA!) The folds in the girl’s skirt and apron are so well done; it almost looks like a photo!

    I don’t know if I’ll be able to participate in this one but I still think that it’s an awesome painting and I love the subject (I mean, who doesn’t love chocolate, right?) Classic paintings are awesome.

    Good choice Salazar!

  2. Kezzie says:

    OOOh, already got lots of ideas for this! I love it when they are like this!


Leave a Reply

