Wake Me Up When October Ends

blue printed top gray linen pants black pumps by 14 shades of grey

Sorry for the cheesy title, but I’m feeling super jealous of all the bloggers who live in more temperate climates right now. I know every year I complain that we don’t have any fall, but sometimes it’s hard, living in a subtropical climate and following bloggers who are all like “Sweater weather! Tights! Booties! Pumpkins!” as soon as September rolls around. Yeah, enjoy your pumpkin spice latte, while I’m here still sweating my ass off in a cotton top and linen pants. We won’t get any cool weather until November, and what’s worse, it’s now the annoying time when it’s blazing hot one day, and rainy and miserable the next. Ugh.

Can you tell that I’m a little grumpy today?

blue printed top gray linen pants by 14 shades of greyblue printed top eyeglasses brooch by 14 shades of grey

Top: Zalora, Pants: Topshop, Heels: local shop, Brooch: The Hague flea market

2 Comments on “Wake Me Up When October Ends”

  1. Mike says:

    Hahaha… yeah, I can tell that you are. I sort of get the same way when people go on and on about how much they love summer, especially this past one (which, if you’ve read enough of my replies, you know how much I hate summer, and not for the reasons most people think. It’s not because of the heat; I can tell you that much…). Kind of like your title for today’s post, sometimes I just want to sleep from June through August and wake up when September starts. Better yet, make that October, just in time for my birthday! Any chance that I get to harp on summer, I will.

    But anyway, hope that things will cool down for you soon over there.

    But ironically enough, for us living in the temperate zone of the world, at least here in the north west, it’s been feeling surprisingly more like the sub tropics (sort of), not just during the summer but even now. Like we’re hitting close to 80, even for today, way above the normal high for a month like October, for us. Guess they forgot to switch the season over to fall. That is the season we’re in over here, isn’t it? I don’t know anymore.

    I’m still waiting for our cool down to happen because I’m tired of feeling like I just came from the gym after a 2 hour workout (my favorite metaphor to use when arriving to work and having to change shirts like I actually did a workout). It doesn’t help that I have to move around a lot for my job either and I get hot really easily…

    Hope my semi “ranty” (that’s probably not a word but I don’t care, I made it up) but funny reply helped brighten your day a little.

  2. jhitomi says:

    Your brooch is so cute!
    I grew up in L.A. where there is only one season all year. Now I am in the pacific northwest and I love the change of seasons. However it makes people live differently. Hibernate all winter, then rejuvenate in the spring, spend all summer working in the yard and cleaning up, then fall (the prettiest season) start getting ready for possible heavy winters.
    I must say, I love winter clothing so thats a plus!


Leave a Reply

