Times Two

white printed blouse black pants watch by 14 shades of grey

At the risk of sounding like an old fart: I rarely use my phone to check the time. I still check the time on my watch. I’ve been wearing one since high school, and my wrist feels empty if I go out without it. So since my last watch died, I’ve been looking for a replacement. It hasn’t been easy, because I don’t like the overly feminine watch, but I don’t want something too heavy and masculine either. Luckily for me, my dad had this old watch lying around – it was a present from some college, but he doesn’t wear watches, so he gave it to me, and I love it. It’s definitely more streamlined than my last watch, but it goes better with my simpler style. The best part? It’s actually two watches in one (one showing the “Home” time and one showing the “World” time), so when I travel, I only have to change one of them!

white printed blouse black pants black pumps by 14 shades of greywhite printed blouse black pants by 14 shades of grey

Shirt: Zara, Pants: thrifted, Heels: local shop, Watch: hand-me-down

2 Comments on “Times Two”

  1. Mike says:

    I must admit that I’m one of those people that uses a phone to check the time as opposed to a watch. I know, I feel really ashamed and feel like a hypocrite because I always claim to be “old school”. But if it’s any consolation, I still have the flip phones that were popular like a decade ago (I absolutely REFUSE to get a smart phone and will NOT use one to listen to music; my mp3 player works just fine) so that’s as far as I go concerning technology.

    I was so ticked a few weeks back because I had a really nice mp3 player that lasted for about 8 years because I really took care of it. But it got a lot of use. It finally played its last tune about a month ago (so sad) and I had to replace it. But it’s been so long since I’ve had to order a new one, I found out that they don’t make the kind that I like anymore. Those that are left are either refurbished or used and the sellers are charging an outrageous price (like over $300 for them; you gotta be kidding me!).
    So I kept searching and searching and finally settled on one for a fair enough price and that works well enough (not as good as my old one though). But what got me was that I did some searching and came to find out that the majority of the people today use their phones to listen to music, which I refuse to do. Call me stubborn and a rebel but I just will not do it.

    Anyway, back to the watch issue. The thing is, I used to wear watches all the time and like you, it felt weird when I didn’t have one on my wrist. The problem was, the straps would always wear away so quickly, even the metal ones (I had a really nice one that I got as a gift back in my early college days and it lasted longer than the others, but it too basically disintegrated.

    I actually received a new watch from my dad last Christmas and I haven’t worn it much but I am thinking again of going back to my early watch wearing days for when I want to know the time. It will be easier overall (as I don’t have to keep pulling my phone out), and I won’t look like everyone else; checking and looking at their phones all the time.

    Hey, great watch by the way! That’s awesome that it gives the world time as well.

  2. Nicole says:

    Thanks for linking up to Top of the World Style. Cool watch!


Leave a Reply

