The Door Within

watercolor tee black pants red kitten heels by 14 shades of grey

Last week when I posted the inspiration for SIA, “The Door Within” by Jean Fetman, which was found by this week’s host Erin in a dumpster (!), I said I didn’t know if I could participate or not because I had nothing that colorful in my closet. But then Jen and Erin persuaded me to try, so try I did, and lo and behold, I did find something – this top!

So maybe it’s not as colorful as the painting, but the painterly quality of the print on the front is an OK match. To pair with it, I chose my black pants and burgundy heels because there is a bit of black and dark red in the painting, and then topped it off with my “house” pendant – the title is “The Door Within”, so I wanted to include “a door within” in my outfit as well. I’m just happy that I did manage to put together an outfit for SIA after all, but the outfit itself is not that bad (even if I do say so myself.)

I wore this to a faculty meeting last Saturday – school hasn’t officially started yet, but we’re slowly getting back to the everyday grind. I am not looking forward to it…

watercolor tee black pants red kitten heels by 14 shades of greywatercolor tee black pants by 14 shades of grey

watercolor tee house pendant by 14 shades of greyblack pants red kitten heels by 14 shades of grey

17_erin_fetman

Top: local shop, Pants: thrifted, Heels: Zara, Necklace: hand-me-down

3 Comments on “The Door Within”

  1. Yay!!!! You look great (casually professional for your faculty meeting — those start for me again soon, and at a new college!), and such wonderful symbolism with the house pendant. Excellent and personalized interpretation of this week’s inspiration artwork! 🙂

  2. Mica says:

    The print on your top is beautiful and matches the prompt so well! 🙂

    I really like the bright shoes with it too 🙂

    Away From The Blue Blog


Leave a Reply

