Europe Packing List

I’ve been home for a week now, but while I’m settling back into my old routine, let’s look back at my epic summer trip, starting with the usual: the packing list.

I lost count of how many sample packing lists I looked at during the months leading up to the trip. My main concern was that I was going to be in Iceland, and how cold it could be, and how much the cold-weather clothes would add to the rest of my list. This is what I ended up taking with me:

packing list by 14 shades of grey

(I had so much fun doodling my packing list last time that I did it again. I got the illustrations online, mostly from goodobjects, then traced them and colored them myself.)

The list includes: 3 short-sleeved tees, 3 long-sleeved tees, 1 chambray shirt, 1 flannel shirt, 2 sweaters, 2 cardigans, 4 pairs of jeans, 2 scarves, 1 jacket, and 3 pairs of shoes. Not included here are the big waterproof jacket and blanket scarf I packed especially for Iceland.

Though that doesn’t seem a lot for a 5-week trip, I actually over-packed. I didn’t realize that 65 degrees in Europe feel very different from 65 degrees in Vietnam, and packed too many warm items. Since I could afford to do laundry quite often, I could’ve done without the striped turtleneck, the extra sweater and cardigan, the light-washed jeans, and the flats (which are my “just in case” shoes, and those I almost always end up never wearing). I guess you learn something new with each trip you make, right? Now that I’ve recorded this, I’m definitely going to pack more wisely for my next long trip!

2 Comments on “Europe Packing List”

  1. Kezzie says:

    Iceland is quite warm in the Summer I believe- my Mum has been there 7 times- ,I only once!
    The illiustration is so cute!
    I waaaaaaaaaaaaaay overpacked for my cruise- ended up with loads of unknown garments at the end!!!

    • Salazar says:

      It was pretty warm while we were there – I did need my big jacket a couple of times due to the wind, but that’s also because I’m a wuss.
      And 7 times, wow! I wish I could go back that many times…


Leave a Reply

