Where I’ve Been #6: Central Germany, Summer 2008

Welcome to Travel Month on 14 Shades of Grey! While I’m in Europe, please enjoy these posts about travels I’ve done in the past.


On our way back from Paris, my dad got the tour bus to drop us off at Gatersleben, a small village near central Germany, where he had a conference at a biotechnology institute. Gatersleben is tiny and is of no interest to anyone who doesn’t work in biology or agriculture. What is really interesting about it, though, is that it’s just a mere 15km away from Quedlinburg, the prettiest medieval town I’ve ever seen (you may recall in my Southern Germany post that this is the only town that can rival Ladenburg.)

To me it is even prettier than Ladenburg, because Ladenburg is a little too… technicolor, too bright and glossy, whereas Quedlinburg, with the same half-timbered houses, slanted roofs, and cobblestone alleys, feels more like a real place, where real people live, as they’ve always lived for the past 700 years. You can turn any corner and find a house built in 14th, 15th or 16th century, or touch the wall of a 10th century castle. We were there on a Sunday, and there were very few people around (not even tourists!), so it felt like we’d actually stepped back in time.

quedlinburg

The oldest house in Quedlinburg, and one of the oldest in Germany, built in 14th century

quedlinburg

I want to live there…


… and there…

quedlinburg… and work at that shop…

quedlinburg… and go to that cafe…

… and wake up to that view

And with that, we bid goodbye to Europe. On to Asia!

One Comment on “Where I’ve Been #6: Central Germany, Summer 2008”

  1. […] place I really loved rather than trying to see something new. So that is why I decided to return to Quedlinburg. It is as close to a perfect fairy-tale town as I’ve ever seen, and I’m happy to say […]


Leave a Reply

