Where I’ve Been #3: Southern Germany, Summer 2007

Welcome to Travel Month on 14 Shades of Grey! While I’m off to Europe, please enjoy these posts about travels I’ve done in the past.


After getting back from Italy, I still had a little time left in Germany before my flight back to the US, so I went on another short trip down south, to Heidelberg. One of my sister’s friends was doing her PhD at Heidelberg University (the oldest university in Germany) at the time, so I stayed with her.

Heidelberg is beautiful. It is certainly more cosmopolitan than Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, but it still has that “small town” feel that I love. I did the touristy thing like going to Heidelberg Castle and following the Philosophers’ Walk, which offers great views of the city and the river, though of course, I still liked best to just wander through the streets and alleys of the old town.

Heidelberg, viewed from the castle


Heidelberg Bridge, and the town at night

Corners of Heidelberg

On my second day there, I visited Ladenburg, a nearby medieval town. It is possibly the prettiest town I’ve ever seen – colorful half-timbered houses, cobblestone streets, swinging shop signs, cute displays or decorations on the windows. I took so many photos that my camera battery died, so I had to go back to Heidelberg to get the charger, and returned to Ladenburg in the afternoon. I just couldn’t get enough of it (there is only one other German town that can rival it, which I will get to in another post.)

I want to live here, in that little turret

The reflection of the Market Square in a bookstore’s window

And that was the end of my first Euro trip. But there will be plenty more to come, so stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

