The Home Coming

blue striped top pink skirt beige sandals by 14 shades of grey

I actually had a much more casual outfit planned for this week’s SIA, inspired by Bertha Lum’s woodblock print “The Home Coming“. However, I’m beginning to feel a little tired of looking so schlubby all the time as the summer drags on, so when I had an end-of-the-year staff meeting at school, I thought it was the perfect opportunity to dress up a bit. I went with this skirt (yes, I’ve worn it for SIA twice in a row now) and the shirt to mimic the strong lines and soft colors of the print, and the sandals echo the curves of the bridge.

Don’t forget to drop by Jen’s blog on Wednesday to see the full round-up of outfits inspired by this artwork!

13_jen_lum_croppedblue striped top pink skirt by 14 shades of grey

DSC_7601DSC_7618

Top: Mango, Skirt: hand-me-down, Sandals: Clarks

6 Comments on “The Home Coming”

  1. Mike says:

    Great interpretation Salazar. I think that you’ve really captured the essence of this artwork. I’m not sure how well I did, but I guess we’ll find out on Wednesday!
    And you never look schlubby Salazar because you never look unkempt or messy. Whether casual or professional, you always look nice; that quintessential spark that makes you, you.
    I’d call your interpretation a winner!

  2. Lanae Bond says:

    Beautiful pink skirt and your top is classic!

  3. Great interpretation and beautiful outfit.

  4. Kezzie says:

    This is perfect!!!! I really like it!

  5. Sheree says:

    This is a beautiful look and the skirt is so feminine and pretty! FYI, I’m hosting my first ever Wednesday Linkup and would love to see you get linkin 😉

    xo Sheree
    http://poshclassymom.com
    IG: @poshclassymom

  6. […] co-founder Salazar @ 14 Shades of Grey looks lovely and fresh in her striped top and soft pink skirt, which in her own words, “mimic […]


Leave a Reply

