Bad Omen

blue gingham shirt wide-leg jeans black heels by 14 shades of grey

This outfit is as bland as room-temperature oatmeal, but there is a reason for it and for this post, I swear. See, it hasn’t rained in nearly a month here, and combined with the construction site right in front of our house, that means dust, dust, dust everywhere. So this morning I thought I’d try my old “style voodoo” by wearing my rain shirt, to see if that could make it rain. But when I went into my closet to get the shirt, it was nowhere to be found! I haven’t worn in since April, so it’s possible that it got lost in the shuffle when I put away my winter clothes. I don’t mind the shirt so much, but if I was more superstitious, I’d say this could be a very bad sign for the rain…

Also, that means I had to wear this gingham shirt instead. Riveting stuff, I know.

blue gingham shirt wide-leg jeans by 14 shades of greyblue gingham shirt wide-leg jeans by 14 shades of grey

Shirt, Cuff, & Heels: local shops, Jeans: Old Navy

4 Comments on “Bad Omen”

  1. Mike says:

    Oooh, mysterious. And perhaps because you can’t find your “rain shirt”, the rain is purposefully holding back until you find it? 😉 I’m just kidding. I’m not superstitious, at least not with the typical ones that most people fret about (i.e. Friday the 13th, walking under a ladder, breaking a mirror = 7 years of bad luck, opening an umbrella indoors, etc., but still, this is quite an enigma, isn’t it? And based on your pictures here, it looks really hot there right now. And I’m sure that all that dust from the construction isn’t helping either.

    A few years back before me moved into our apartment, these guys were working on our street for about two weeks. It was one of the hottest summers that I can remember and these guys were out there everyday working on the street; tearing it up and then re-paving it. Dust, noise and the smell of tar + 2 weeks of 85/90 degree weather with humidity; well, that equation isn’t too hard to figure out. We were miserable the whole time they were doing it. Opening the windows would let the smell and dust in. Closing the windows made the house feel like an oven (old house, no AC). Quite the conundrum we had on our hands there…

    Anyway, hope you find your shirt and hope that it rains soon!

  2. momofdox says:

    We have your rain here in the Midwest, and we are more than ready to send it back to you! I do hope you find your magic rain shirt, tho. I know it’s silly, but I have a pair of socks I wear if I’m praying for rain. Doesn’t always work, but I happened to wear them on a rainy day this week and we got a tornado!

    • Salazar says:

      Thank you, I did find it! And the rain did come (probably too much of it, but still…)

      • Mike says:

        Glad you found your shirt, Salazar. Maybe both you and momofdox can send some rain over here where I am. It keeps teasing us like it’s going to rain, but so far, nothing. And it’s going to be another day close to 90… ugh…Maybe I should wear my “rain shirt”! Now where is that thing, lol!


Leave a Reply

