The Blues Are Still Blue

chambray shirt black skirt blue oxfords by 14 shades of grey

Told you guys the outfits are going to be really simple these next few weeks, didn’t I? The heat and the approaching end of the semester mean that my mind doesn’t have much room left for interesting outfits. This one is actually one of the more interesting I wore this week, and it’s still very simple – I knew I wanted to wear these oxfords, and I happened to be listening to Belle & Sebastian at the time, so I figured, what the heck, let’s keep the rest of the outfit blue (with a bit of black). Basically, I used their song as inspiration for this outfit. It’s been a while since I had a song as my post title anyway.

chambray shirt black skirt by 14 shades of greyblack skirt blue oxfords by 14 shades of grey

Shirt: Esprit, Skirt: hand-me-down, Belt: thrifted, Oxfords: Max Dorian

4 Comments on “The Blues Are Still Blue”

  1. Mike says:

    The cool blue oxfords are back! Awesome! They’re a great match for your blue shirt and is put together well. You always dress nice, Salazar, even with your more simple outfits.

    If I may inquire, what is Belle & Sebastian? Are they a type of band? I love the name. I think I may have heard of them before but I’m not sure.

    • Salazar says:

      Yep, they’re a Scottish band. They’re named after a French novel about a boy named Sebastian and his dog Belle.

      Their drummer tours with Snow Patrol occasionally, which is how I learned about them in the first place. They’re really good, if you like twee indie pop/rock.

      • Mike says:

        I thought so. I remember hearing the name in passing while on the college campus a few years back. Some students were talking about it.

        The music is not my type of music per se, but it is likable. I’m always open to hearing new kinds of music. It has a nice beat.

        I clicked on the link that you left above and watched the video. I thought it was pretty cool, particularly the guy sitting on the machines with a fishing line. I couldn’t help but laugh at seeing that.

        And watching the video made me think of our own laundry rooms in my building and some of the peculiar paraphernalia that people put in the machines. Truthfully, it’s not that different from what this video portrays. Once I even found a whole lot of lettuce in one of the washing machines when I was going to do my laundry; Yes, lettuce!!
        That’s the only problem with having to share a public space like that. You never know what you might encounter from the person that used it prior to you.

  2. Thanks for linking up to Top of the World Style. OMG! These shoes are so awesome!


Leave a Reply

