Young Girl Reading

yellow top navy jeans brown loafers by 14 shades of grey

As soon as I saw this week’s SIA inspiration, Jean-Honoré Fragonard’s “A Young Girl Reading“, I knew that I would wear this top, since it’s one of the few yellow pieces that I have in my closet, and the lace trims and large collars can mimic the ruff and the bell sleeves of the girl’s dress. The dusky pink/lavender tone of her ribbons and of the cushion behind her is another matter though – I didn’t want to wear my pink skirt, since it’s too girly and I didn’t want to pair a girly skirt with a girly top.

In the end, I decided to wear my pink scarf as a kind of headband, and keep the rest of the outfit simple. I don’t usually wear headband or headscarf, but this adds a “1940’s/1950’s casual wear” to the outfit, which I like. Plus it’s super convenient in covering up second-day hair 😛

yellow top navy jeans brown loafers by 14 shades of greyyellow top navy jeans pink headscarf by 14 shades of grey

And of course, I had to recreate the pose:

yellow top navy jeans pink headscarf by 14 shades of greyyellow top pink headscarf by 14 shades of grey

Remember to check out Jen’s blog for the full SIA round-up tomorrow!

4 Comments on “Young Girl Reading”

  1. Mike says:

    Love it, Salazar! It’s a great interpretation. And I love the idea of you wearing your pink scarf as a headband in order to incorporate the bit of pink seen in the pillow the girl is leaning against, as well as her ribbon in her hair.
    It looks really good on you. And of course, you needed a book as your prop for this SIA. I’m so happy to see that we all had the same idea to do that. I did it for mine (you’ll see it tomorrow) but was worried that I was being too literal or too obvious at first. But then I remembered that this is supposed to be fun and that we can interpret it any way that we want so I went for it. 😛
    See you at the round-up tomorrow!

  2. […] co-host and co-founder Salazar from 14 Shades of Grey chose her yellow vintage top and pink scarf to mimic the girl’s dress and ribbons, and kept […]

  3. What a cute look. I’ve used a scarf to cover up second day hair too! I feel like scarves are so versatile nowadays, I’ve seen people wear them as bracelets, even anklets. Hope to see you at today’s linkup!

    http://www.jerseygirltexanheart.com

  4. Adriele says:

    This blouse is ADORABLE!!! I love it! Thanks for linking up this week!

    -Adriele
    StyleAssisted.com


Leave a Reply

