Sensory Underload

white eyelet top black pants black oxfords by 14 shades of grey

I think the main reason I tend to wear mostly monochromatic looks during the warmer months is that it’s so much easier to have sensory overload when it’s hot out. Your brain and your body are already boiling, so there is no need to assault your eyes (or other people’s eyes) with bright colors as well.

We’ve just entered our first real heat wave of the summer, and while it’s still pretty tame compared to last year (the temperature hasn’t reached 100 yet, and the heat index is still only around 100 to 110), I’m already disinclined to wear anything other than neutrals, and even my accessories are more streamlined. Not that I’ve been wearing much of anything else lately, but I do apologize if it gets a little boring around here in the next month or so.

white eyelet top black pants black oxfords by 14 shades of greywhite eyelet top black pants by 14 shades of grey

white eyelet top silver necklace by 14 shades of greyblack pants black oxfords by 14 shades of grey

Top: Mango, Pants & Necklace: local shops, Oxfords: Vagabond

2 Comments on “Sensory Underload”

  1. Mike says:

    Well, we’re twins again, Salazar. I got the whole black and white look going for me today too; white shirt with black pants. This is what I call my “monochromatic week”, where I wear mostly black, white and gray. Last week was “Primary Colors week” and next week is just random where I sort of mix up the colors, depending on how I feel (I throw in an all black look in there somewhere) and how long it’s been since I’ve worn a certain shirt. But with the temperature rising here (finally!), it sort of limits me a little since long sleeves are out of the question, as well as anything thick, so I think it’s pretty safe to put those in my winter storage, even with our state’s wacky weather patterns.

    And I love your reasoning for wearing monochromatic colors! That’s one reason I think for my obsession with the color black. Some people say that I should wear more color, which I’ve been trying to do, hence “Primary colors week” and “Random week”. But the fact remains is that I just like wearing black. It goes with any color, fairly easy to keep clean, and I just like it. All pretty good reasons I’d say.

    And you’re never boring Salazar. You never need to apologize. You always have interesting things to say. 🙂

    Keep cool, and I’ll do the same. We’re about 20 degrees cooler than Hanoi, but for us here in Ohio, 80 is pretty warm for May! I’m already perspiring a little and it hasn’t even hit 80 yet. And of course, the rains only make it feel that much hotter. We’re in trouble. :/

  2. I love your top…super cute outfit, those shoes are pretty chic too!


Leave a Reply

