SIA: Carnation, Lily, Lily, Rose

It’s another week of SIA, and we’re celebrating the coming summer (is it too soon for you guys in more moderate climates? It’s certainly not to soon for us tropical-dwellers) with John Singer Sargent’s “Carnation, Lily, Lily, Rose”. Let’s hit it!

First up we have Mike, who went with a simple black-and-white outfit, and used his house plants to recreate the foliage in the painting – now that’s dedication!

09_salazar_sargent_mike

Our co-host Jen chose more saturated versions of the colors in the painting, and I love that she also wore a striped top to subtly call back to the paper lanterns:

Next up is Stephanie’s double-floral look – it’s actually triple-floral if you count the background as well:

09_salazar_sargent_steph

 Our other co-host, Erin, had a pretty straightforward outfit. The feminine silhouette, colors and accessories certainly fit the simple prettiness of the painting:

Kezzie always looks super cute, and this time she doesn’t disappoint either:

09_salazar_sargent_kezzie

Noelle of The Classy Junk is lovely in her ethereal floral maxi dress. I would argue that it’s more fitting for a Pre-Raphaelite painting, but it’s great nonetheless:

And finally, here’s me:

lace tee printed skirt beige sandals by 14 shades of grey

And that wraps up another successful SIA! Thank you for participating, and come back next week for a new challenge!

6 Comments on “SIA: Carnation, Lily, Lily, Rose”

  1. Mike says:

    Hey everyone! All of you did great, as always, with the SIA challenge! One thing I noticed in each of our photos is that we all included plants of some sort, which is quite appropriate to match the painting here. Gotta love our leafy green friends, right?
    And I just now noticed in my picture that a little bit of the trees growing near my building got into the shot. I should have thought to have included more of them in my picture as that would have been perfect, but my houseplants were good enough.
    And don’t let that image fool you. It was quite chilly out when I took the picture, so my plants had to suffer for a few minutes out in the cold during my little photo shoot.

    And for us temperate climate dwellers, it’s certainly not too soon for summer! We may have had a mild winter this year, but the effects of the cold like to linger for quite a long while long after the season’s over. Here it is May and I’m still needing a jacket for most of the day. So bring on that summer weather! I’ll probably be singing a different tune in the next few months though when it’s like 85 or 90.

    Again, awesome job everyone! And I’d like to again thank our wonderful SIA co-hosts for always including me in on their respective blogs during round up time. You all are the best! See everyone next challenge!

  2. Kezzie says:

    What am eclectic collection!! Everyone with beautiful details and Mike is right about the foliage and flowers present in everyone! I adore Noelle’s dress, so so pretty and captures the quality! Everyone was great!

  3. Such lovely florals and colors and greenery! 🙂

  4. theclassyjunk says:

    All the beautiful colors and florals! Wonderful interpretations, everyone!

    It’s funny you say that because I actually had Pre-Raphaelite painting in mind when I bought the dress. I put together a whole Pre-Raphaelite pinterest board because of it. But, that being said, I couldn’t not wear a lily print dress! Also, the girls’ white dresses kind of reminded me of mine 🙂

  5. dan says:

    What a nice idea! And my post joins the floral theme…


Leave a Reply

