Gibson Girl

blue striped shirt navy skirt red heels by 14 shades of grey

I feel very much like a Gibson Girl in this outfit. Considering the 1900’s is one of my favorite eras in fashion (along with the 1800’s, 1880’s, and 1930’s), it’s not surprising. I think it’s the combination of the simple, high-collared shirt, the dark skirt (of course, on a real Gibson Girl, the skirt would’ve been floor-length), and sensible but still cute shoes. Should’ve worn a brooch too. What I’m really missing, though, is the hairstyle – I’ve tried the “Gibson tuck” so many times before, but my stupid hair won’t stay put and won’t hold the bobby pins. So alas, I had to make do with this quick bun instead.

blue striped shirt navy skirt by 14 shades of greynavy skirt red heels by 14 shades of grey

Shirt: Mango, Skirt: Banana Republic (thrifted), Heels: Zara

2 Comments on “Gibson Girl”

  1. Mike says:

    I’d almost say that your outfit would be fitting in the Victoria era too (one of my favorite historical eras), as that era and the age of the Gibson Girl coincide a little bit. The Victorian era was on the verge of ending near the late 1890s, which is when the age of the Gibson Girl came into the picture. Nice how that sort of works out.

    Cool look for you Salazar! You know how to make it work every time! And I hope I don’t sound like a weirdo saying this but I love your red shoes! They add just enough color that really makes all of your outfits pop and is a nice way to add a little color without going over the top.

    Long ago, I used to have this affinity for the color red, long before I adopted the whole black and dark colors motif. It was my favorite color and I think to this day, it still is one of my favorites.

    Have a great weekend!

  2. Kezzie says:

    I think you look brilliant! I am so bad at doing my hair, I can never manage anything like this!


Leave a Reply

