Life On Film III

Got some more film photography here. I couldn’t find any store that still sells the film I used last time (Efiniti UXi Super 200), so I got a roll of Kodak Colorplus 200 instead and took some test photos first, just to see what it’s like. It’s a bit yellowish, and doesn’t have as much contrast as I like, though I’m not sure if it’s because of the film or because I made some mistake in guessing the f stop. But it’s not bad overall, and it’s the most readily available/popular (i.e. cheapest) film for amateur photographers, so I guess I’m going to shoot with it from now on.

Bonus – this night time photo, which turns out much better than I expected:

5 Comments on “Life On Film III”

  1. Mike says:

    Wow… these are beautiful, Salazar. The colors are so vivid.
    I know I said this before but nothing beats film photos when it comes to photography. All of our digital devices are great in a pinch (even my crappy iPod cam when I’m out taking pictures on a walk), but they just don’t capture the true essence of a scene like film does.
    And that last photo is awesome! Thanks for sharing these!

    • Salazar says:

      Thanks Mike! I’m particularly pleased with that last photo because I’ve never taken a night photo on film before, and it turns out even better than a digital one.

      • Mike says:

        You’re welcome Salazar! Yeah, they’re all quite beautiful, but that last one is the “cream of the crop”. I know that digital images don’t come out so good at night and look too pixelated or grainy, particularly if they’re cheap cameras. I’ve used those before and it just doesn’t work out.

        Hey, forgive me if you’ve already mentioned this on your blog, but what kind of camera do you use? I am seriously thinking of buying myself a camera, either a digital one or a film one as it wouldn’t be difficult for me to go and have the film developed (thanks to the Walgreens down the street from me). I haven’t decided on which one yet but after seeing your photos, I’m aiming more towards the film camera.

  2. Salazar says:

    I use an EXA 1b. It’s my dad’s old camera from East Germany, so it’s really well made and lasts basically forever, but I don’t know much about other film cameras. You should probably do some research before buying one. (This blog has some pretty cool guides on cameras and films: http://curatingcuteness.com/2011/11/camera-guide/ – it’s not extensive, but she wrote from her own experience.)

    • Mike says:

      Okay, thanks Salazar. I’ll check it out. Yeah, this will be my first film camera that I buy so I plan to research them to make sure I get a good one for a decent price. I’m all about being cheap but don’t want something that will break a month after I buy it.


Leave a Reply

