Stormy Skirt

black striped top black printed skirt red kitten heels by 14 shades of grey

Is it weird, how much the weather influences my outfits? And I’m not talking about the temperature here – of course I would wear summer clothes when it’s warm and winter clothes when it’s cold, I’m an adult (I think). What I mean is the weather sometimes dictates the colors and patterns of my outfits too. Like how I would reach for blue things when it’s hot out, as if I’m subconsciously trying to cool myself down or something.

Or take this outfit, for example: I didn’t plan on wearing these two items together, but it’s been stormy and raining a lot lately, so I just found myself drawn to this skirt – it reminds me of the sky I guess – and then I thought the top would a fun way to mix the patterns, and here we are. It’s a bit busy, to be sure, but by keeping the rest of the outfit simple, I think it works.

black striped top black printed skirt by 14 shades of greyblack printed skirt red kitten heels by 14 shades of grey

Top: Forever21, Skirt: Zalora, Shoes: Zara, Belt: thrifted

3 Comments on “Stormy Skirt”

  1. Mike says:

    This is a great look, Salazar! I think the pattern mixing is a great way to keep things interesting, without having things clash. You’re really good at that. And your red shoes add in a nice splash of color to the mix.

    And I distinctly remember your skirt from when we did an SIA last year sometime, “Painting Number 2” I think it was. I remember that one because it was one of my favorite SIA challenges that we did. And you know how in drawing, rain is often depicted with lots of lines and dashes? Your skirt sort of has that look going for it so maybe that’s another reason why you chose it.

    I like your concept of choosing an outfit that would help you to adjust properly to the weather, like wearing blue or purple when it’s hot out to keep cool. I haven’t thought of it that way. Now that I’m opening myself up to wearing more color (I’m trying to anyway), that might be the way for me to go too. It’s been really warm (and humid, thanks to the rain) here lately, so I may have to break out the blues and greens that I have as they are cool colors. Of course, if I don’t want to do that, or can’t decide, I can always rely on my go to color and look like a dark stormy rain cloud. 😛

  2. Jessica says:

    Love this outfit, and the red shoes are perfect!

  3. Thanks for linking up to Top of the World Style.


Leave a Reply

