SIA Inspiration: John Singer Sargent

We’ve had some pretty unconventional SIA challenges lately, with my brooch, Jen’s embroidered caftan, and Erin’s stained glass dome, so I decided to go the traditional route and pick a painting:

This is “Carnation, Lily, Lily, Rose” by  John Singer Sargent. Considering that he’s one of my favorite painters, it’s a surprise that we haven’t done a Sargent for SIA before. The warm and idyllic scene is perfect for these late spring/early summer days, the floral motif is a no-brainer, plus there are a lot of colors and textures, so it shouldn’t be too hard to interpret (I hope.) Just remember to send me your outfit photos and/or post by next Monday, May 2nd. Have fun!

One Comment on “SIA Inspiration: John Singer Sargent”

  1. Mike says:

    I must admit. I haven’t heard of this artist before, though I’m sure that his name has come up from time to time during my art history classes in college.
    That’s one thing I like about these challenges. There’s always something new to learn.
    This one should be fairly easy to interpret, which is good as I was not happy with my last photo at all.
    Looking forward to seeing what everyone comes up with!


Leave a Reply

