Mixing Metals

navy ikat shirt navy linen pants beige sandals by 14 shades of grey

I wore this outfit last weekend, when we had a mini-break and the whole family went out for casual lunch. It’s nothing special, but it’s cute enough, and most importantly, it’s comfy (stretchy, slouchy pants are the best when you’re eating out).

My only quibble is this: the hardware on my sandals is gold, but my bracelet is silver, and that kind of metal mixing makes me all twitchy. Is it just me? I mean, you can barely see the buckles on the sandals so I doubt anyone even noticed. Is it some sort of outdated fashion rule (like “don’t wear navy and black together”) that I should try to ignore?

 navy linen pants beige sandals by 14 shades of greynavy ikat shirt navy linen pants by 14 shades of grey

Shirt: C-Wonder, Pants: Mango, Sandals: Aldo, Cuff: local shop

2 Comments on “Mixing Metals”

  1. momofdox says:

    I’m certainly no expert, but I think it’s fine to mix metals. My favorite way to do that is to wear several bracelets of varied metals (silver, gold, brass). I think the key is to make it look deliberate.

  2. Thanks for linking up to Top of the World Style. Great outfit!


Leave a Reply

