Dome, Glass, Library

blue printed blouse black midi skirt beige sandals by 14 shades of grey

Yes, that post title is a nod to one of my favorite short stories by Neil Gaiman, “Snow, Glass, Apple”. Anyway I’m not here to talk about that story (even though I could talk a lot about that story) but about this outfit, which is my attempt to interpret the gorgeous Tiffany dome of the Chicago Cultural Center for SIA, in celebration of National Library Week in the US.

If it were still cold, I would’ve worn my embellished sweatshirt, but since it’s way too warm now for that, I had to make do with this blouse, since the print and the color sort of echo the look of the dome, and my pleated skirt, which I tend to reach for in any SIA challenge that has an architectural/structural feel. As for shoes, my black cut-out heels would work with the strong black lines of the dome, but it’s too heavy for this outfit, so I went with these new sandals instead. And finally, I topped it off with my Venetian glass zodiac necklace – since the zodiac signs are embossed at the top of the dome. Am I happy with this as an SIA interpretation? Not really. Do I like it as an outfit? Heck, yes.

blue printed blouse black midi skirt by 14 shades of greyblue printed blouse zodiac necklace by 14 shades of grey

black midi skirt beige sandals by 14 shades of greyblue printed blouse black midi skirt by 14 shades of grey

Top: Zalora, Skirt: thrifted, Sandals: Aldo, Necklace: Venice gift shop

4 Comments on “Dome, Glass, Library”

  1. Mike says:

    I think that it’s a great interpretation, Salazar. Your blouse does echo the dome quite nicely, especially from a distance. And your glass necklace is perfect for this particular SIA!

  2. […] Salazar says she chose her blouse and skirt to echo the intricacy and strong lines of the dome, and her necklace has a zodiac sign on it, to echo the zodiac signs on the top of the dome. […]

  3. Sydney S says:

    Such a cute top!
    xo, Syd
    anchoredinthesouth.com

  4. […] new host, Erin, always has such interesting inspirations, and one of her very first picks, the Tiffany stained-glass dome of the Chicago Cultural Center, is possibly the most gorgeous thing I’ve ever […]


Leave a Reply

