Spring Tulips

chambray shirt printed wrap skirt brown heels by 14 shades of grey

Whenever an SIA challenge features a work of art with bright colors, it’s a challenge for me, and this week’s inspiration, a piece of 16th century Turkish tulip embroidery, is no different. As gorgeous as it is, I had no idea how to interpret it, since the dominating color is red, and I have very few red pieces in my closet, and even fewer pieces with a print similar to this. And then I remembered my reversible wrap skirt, with an exuberant floral print on one side and bright red on the other. My plan was to wear the red side with a printed/embroidered top, but after looking more closely at the print, I decided it would be better – sort of like a realistic interpretation of the embroidered tulip, if you will. Then I chose my chambray shirt because the faded blue in the piece looks like chambray, and finished the look with my heeled loafers. This is a looser interpretation than I usually do, but I quite like it.

Don’t forget to drop by Jen’s blog to see how others do with this piece!

chambray shirt printed wrap skirt brown heels by 14 shades of greyprinted wrap skirt brown heels by 14 shades of grey

chambray shirt printed wrap skirt by 14 shades of grey

Shirt: Esprit, Skirt: vintage, Heels: local shop

5 Comments on “Spring Tulips”

  1. Mike says:

    I like it too, Salazar. I think it’s a great interpretation and your floral dress has great shades of red that mimics the pattern in the embroidery perfectly. It was a challenging (but beautiful SIA) but you pulled it off perfectly!

    And besides, your dress looks very spring-like, which may be just what we need to help usher in spring. I don’t know about Hanoi, but it’s been so cold here the last few days, one would think that we were going backwards in the year rather than forward.

    Great interpretation!

  2. I know you called it a looser interpretation, but I think your skirt and chambray shirt combo is totally on-point! You look great! 😀

  3. […] co-host and co-founder Salazar @ 14 Shades of Grey is totally on-point with her tulip-print skirt and chambray shirt. I love what she calls “a […]

  4. […] next one is Jen’s inspiration – a piece of 16th century Turkish tulip embroidery. Just some uncomplicated springtime […]


Leave a Reply

