The Goldfinch

white eyelet top brown cardigan blue jeans brown booties by 14 shades of grey

Even though I managed four books this month (or maybe precisely because of that), I was having a hard time deciding which book to interpret as an outfit. At first I thought I could do something with Kiki’s Delivery Service (a black dress, something red, and a cat would suffice), but in the end I didn’t want to be too literal about it, so I went with The Goldfinch instead – or more exactly, the painting behind the book. Believe it or not, before reading the book, I didn’t know this was an actual painting. It certainly looks very modern compared to other 17th-centuring paintings, doesn’t it?

I interpreted the painting with shades of gold and brown, and used the textures of my top and my cardigan to mimic the texture in the painting. A pair of gray jeans would’ve been perfect, but since I don’t have gray jeans, my light-washed blue would have to suffice. Top it off with a necklace to mimic the chain in the painting, and I’m done!

white eyelet top brown cardigan blue jeans brown booties by 14 shades of greywhite eyelet top brown cardigan blue jeans by 14 shades of grey

white eyelet top yellow scarf necklace by 14 shades of greyblue jeans brown booties by 14 shades of grey

Top: Mango, Cardigan: hand-me-down, Jeans: Sneak Peek, Scarf: Target, Boots: Topshop, Necklace: local shop

One Comment on “The Goldfinch”

  1. Mike says:

    Oooh, I didn’t know that the cover on “The Goldfinch” book was an actual painting. That’s pretty awesome. So in a way, you sort of did a mini SIA with your outfit!

    Anyway, here’s my Style Inspired by books theme:

    Just recently, I purchased some new polo shirts from Amazon and I am really proud of them because 1) they weren’t too expensive but still look great, and 2) they are a major step away from my usual dichotomous duds that I usually wear. I just started a “new” job last week and I wanted to sort of give myself a new look, of sorts, to sort of capitalize the sign of new beginnings, or whatever.

    Anyway, lately, I’ve sort of had an affinity for the three primary colors, red, yellow and blue. This terrific trio of colors can make any color that you can think of in the world, if you know how to mix them properly. I know that I’m sounding like a total nerd when I say that but I don’t care; I think it’s pretty cool.

    So I purchased these shirts and I decided to wear each one for each day of the week last week, plus two other shirts that I already had in order to represent this style in which I had gotten inspiration from.

    If you have been reading Salazar’s book review postings each month lately, you’ve probably seen in the comments, the books that I’ve been reading for our club as well. And the series that I have been following for a little over a year now is called “The 39 Clues”, a very good children’s/young adult series, written by various authors that focuses on the main characters, Amy and Dan Cahill, and their search for the 39 clues. Skipping to the heart of my point here, the series has many focuses and aspects that make it so good and so addicting. But one focus in particular that you’ll notice if you read the books is the five branches that are often mentioned or made reference to, as those help the reader to understand many of the characters’ personalities. The Cahill family goes back hundreds of years and each of these branches were founded by the original Cahill siblings, Luke, Thomas, Katherine, Jane and Madeleine. Luke established the “Lucian Branch”, known for their crafty and sneaky ways, as well as good leadership skills. Thomas established the “Tomas Branch”, known for their athletic ability and strength. Katherine established the “Ekaterina (or “Ekat” for short) Branch”, known for their high intelligence and technological skills. Jane established the “Janus Branch”, known for their artistic and creative abilities. And Madeleine established the “Madrigal Branch”, the one that operates in secrecy and under the radar of the other branches in the attempt to unite the other four, who have been fighting from the beginning over the clues. Notice also that each branch name shares a similarity to the name of it’s founder, which I think is really cool.

    And each branch is represented by a different color. Lucians are represented by red. Ekats are represented by yellow. Tomas are represented by blue. Janus are represented by green. And Madrigals are represented by black. You can probably see where I’m going with this. Last Monday I wore red. Tuesday I wore yellow. Wednesday I wore blue, etc.

    So while it’s not cosplay, as I wasn’t dressing up as a particular character, my logic behind the colored shirts was based off of this book series. And to me, I think that’s pretty awesome. And based off of my explanation here of the branches from the book series, what branch would you best fit into?


Leave a Reply

