SIA Inspiration: Turkish Embroidery

It’s Jen’s turn to host SIA, and she picks another piece of textile art, this Turkish tulip embroidery:

This is a detail from a 16th century caftan, of the Ottoman period (you can learn more about it here and here.) The vivid color scheme is going to be a problem for me, but I’m sure I could do something with the floral motif, or the bold, graphic quality of the piece. Either way, it’s gorgeous.

If you want to participate, remember to send your outfit to Jen (librarianforlifestyle@gmail.com) by next Monday, April 4th. Have fun!

One Comment on “SIA Inspiration: Turkish Embroidery”

  1. Mike says:

    Just saw this over on Erin’s blog and it looks gorgeous! I think I can swing the red pretty easily, but I’m not sure how to implement the blue that’s in here. I will have to think about this one. But still, it’s a beautiful piece of embroidery and I look forward to what everyone will come up with (including myself)!


Leave a Reply

