Life On Film II

It’s been a while (two and a half years, in fact), since I posted my first attempts at film photography. I haven’t shot much film since – mostly because I was too busy, but also because it was a bit of a hassle to get processed. I finished two rolls about a year ago (it’s surprising how long it takes me to get the full 36 shots per roll), and didn’t get around to processing them until now, after I’ve discovered a lab close to the place where I teach my weekend film making workshop. Thankfully the films are still OK, and the photos turned out way better than I hoped:

Looking at these, I was reminded why I got into film photography in the first place. Now that I’ve found a processing lab, I will try to shoot film more regularly.  I know I sound like a total hipster saying this, but it’s so much more… rewarding than digital somehow.

5 Comments on “Life On Film II”

  1. Mike says:

    Wow! These are great pictures Salazar! They came out so clear and the color is phenomenal.
    And I agree. Actual film photos trump digital photos any day. I always wanted a camera that used film but never got one. One day, I hope to get such a device.
    I look forward to your future posts on “Life On Film”. 🙂

  2. Sadly I don’t know where I’d even get film developed anymore, it seems like there aren’t any places that develop film these days. Shame, since the photos have a special quality that digital can’t replicate.

    • Salazar says:

      I hear you. Luckily film photography is going through a revival (thanks to all the hipster kids), so with some Googling, I was able to find this place. Maybe you can try searching “film processing lab” + your location to see what comes up.

      • Mike says:

        I’ve pondered that myself. They used to have such places in malls as I remember getting my picture taken as a kid and remembering my mom going to this place in, the now abandoned mall, to get the film developed. Maybe I’ll try this myself and see what I can find. There’s gotta be some places left that still develops film.

    • Mike says:

      Jane, if you live near a Walgreens, you may find just what you’re looking for as they have film development there. I just looked it up. That would be great for me as I live just down the street from one. Now I just need a camera.


Leave a Reply

