Leap Frog

gray sweatshirt plaid pants red kitten heels by 14 shades of grey

I know this week’s SIA inspiration, “Leap Year Frog” by Delilah Smith, is going to be a tough one for me, because it features a lot of green, of which I don’t have much in my wardrobe (except for some scarves and special-occasion dresses), and besides, most of those are dark green. I don’t have anything in this bright green, and I look horrible in it anyway.

In the end, I decided a loose interpretation would be best, so I went with my green plaid pants, my gray sweatshirt (for the gray background), and new red shoes to mimic the prominent touches of red throughout the painting. I’m not a red lipstick kind of girl, but the bows on the shoes and the lace on my sweatshirt can convey that girly feel of the frog without being too literal about it. And finally, I finished it with my ceramic brooch, because it’s green and looks kinda like a lily pad – frogs and lily pads, get it? All in all, I’m happy with it.

Don’t forget to drop by Loop Looks for Erin’s first time as a host and see how others interpret this painting!

gray sweatshirt plaid pants by 14 shades of greygray sweatshirt plaid pants red kitten heels by 14 shades of grey

plaid pants red kitten heels by 14 shades of greygray sweatshirt ceramic brooch by 14 shades of grey

Sweatshirt: H&M, Pants: local shop, Shoes: Zara, Brooch: vintage

One Comment on “Leap Frog”

  1. Mike says:

    I think that you look great Salazar! Don’t be too hard on yourself. For me, this SIA was a bit challenging as well because I only have two articles of clothing that are green, and really only one shirt that closely matches the color in this week’s painting. I was okay with my photo and I decided right away what I wanted to do, but I fear that it’s too banal; no real quirks or gimmicks that make it stand out. But I went with what I had as I wanted to participate and support Erin on her first SIA curating job.

    Anyway, you’ll see it tomorrow. And hey, your new shoes match the red that’s found in the painting pretty well so I think that it’s a great interpretation. See you at the round-up tomorrow!


Leave a Reply

