When You Reach Me

wide leg jeans striped turtleneck herringbone jacket brown booties by 14 shades of grey

Here’s my outfit inspired by Rebecca Stead’s When You Reach Me. It’s definitely the best out of the three books I read last month, and also the easiest to translate into an outfit as well. The story takes place in the winter of 1978, so I chose my wide-leg jeans and striped turtleneck to mimic a 1970’s style. Then I topped it off with my herringbone jacket and this ceramic brooch, because… the pattern looks kind of mysterious and time-travel-y? I don’t know, I just like it. (And shut up, “time-travel-y” is totally a word.)

wide leg jeans striped turtleneck herringbone jacket by 14 shades of greywide leg jeans striped turtleneck herringbone jacket brown booties by 14 shades of grey

wide leg jeans brown booties by 14 shades of greystriped turtleneck herringbone jacket ceramic brooch by 14 shades of grey

Jeans: H&M, Turtleneck & Boots: local shops, Jacket: tailor, Brooch: vintage

6 Comments on “When You Reach Me”

  1. Otto says:

    Love the hems at the bottoms of the legs.

  2. Every time you wear that jacket I wish I had it in my own closet! I love it with that striped turtleneck, too.

  3. Mike says:

    Hahaha! I like your word “time-travel-y”! And you’re right, it is a word. Google and Microsoft Word say it is!

    Your brooch does sort of have that supernatural/mysterious look at that. What time would you travel to if time travel were possible?

    • Salazar says:

      Oh gosh, I don’t know. On the condition that there is no consequence (no accidentally killing off your ancestor or causing the world to end or anything like that), I guess I would travel to any era when photography didn’t exist yet – so from early 19th century going back. Especially Regency and 18th century. I just want to see what those really look like.

      • Mike says:

        Oh yeah, I hear ya there. I wouldn’t want to mess with anything that would result in me not existing in the present because as we’ve seen in fiction, the slightest alteration of history could totally change it, and we wouldn’t want that. And I wouldn’t want to see anything gory, like war events or killings.

        It would be events that I’ve read about that make me wonder what they were like to experience in person, like Beethoven performing his 9th symphony as it’s one of my favorite classical pieces that he did and I often wondered what it sounded like live back then, without it being digitized by CDs and computers today. And I’ve read many sources that say that Beethoven was almost completely deaf at the time when he conducted his 9th symphony and someone had to tap him on the arm to indicate to him that the audience was totally giving him a standing ovation, as he couldn’t hear it. That would be a touching moment to see in person.

        And I like your idea of going back to see the world before photography came into being as before that, we only know what things looked like by paintings or other forms of art.
        I was at our art museum today during lunch and saw a painting of our downtown area in what it looked like back in the 1930s. I wouldn’t mind even seeing recent history and how my old neighborhood looked back when my grandparents were my age or younger. It was probably cleaner back then, that’s for sure!

        But yeah, I’m talking about time travel totally as an observer, where we could see people in that time period but they couldn’t see us. If we could be seen by people of the past, we could accidently change history, which would be disastrous.

        Haha, thanks for indulging a little in my total bit of “nerdiness” here. I’m not one to fantasize about such things a lot, but it is fun to do every so often. I can be sort of a geek at times. 😉

  4. Thanks for linking up to Top of the World Style. Cool look.


Leave a Reply

